• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

HTPC blu-ray(3D) viewing on a Samsung ps516500

sultan01

Standard Member
Hello there every one.

I'm a newbie to the A/V world (and this forum) and I was hoping to get some answers to some questions which have been bugging me so I'm hoping some of you technological veterans may be able to help me!!!:)

I have a Sony vgx tp3z/b home media pc attached to a Samsung plasma PS51E6500 via HDMI.
Running Windows 7,I use this media pc to surf the web,watch 3d films streaming online,(also ones which I have downloaded) and also to watch standard definition TV through its analogue tuner.

My questions are these,

When I'm watching standard definition TV (on windows media centre) it shows me when I press the info button on my remote that the screen resolution is ....x1080, 50p.
What I'd like to know is what does the 50p stand for in simplistic terms? also when I load up and start windows media centre it shows the same resolution as above,but it shows 60hz instead until I choose a TV channel,and once chosen it(a channel) it shows 50p next to it.Does any one know why this is?

Secondly I was wondering if any one knew,when watching downloaded 3d films (some of these films are in excess of 13gbs),can I force the 24p format to kick in,so I can enable cinema smooth on the TV,or will they be output as 50p still?

It also has a blu ray player built in too,would these blu rays on a disc show as 24p also on my plasma? ( I use total media theatre 5,windows home media cinema classic,& windows media player version 12).......