1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC and TVs

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by CodeThief, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Is it really worth going the HTPC route if the output is going to be a TV??

    Theres no way I can afford a Projector / Plasma so best would be maybe a Tosh 32" prog scan with component in.

    Is it worth me putting together a PC (I have most bits already I should mention). How should I output to the TV?? S-VID / VGA --> ??

    I don't really fancy bodging a lead together and blowing up a brand new £1400 TV :D

    Dave
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    In my view it isnt worth it, you would be much better with a standalone player.

    Ad
     
  3. TEK

    TEK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I disagree, if you've got all the bits anyway then you have nothing to lose. You might as well set it up and start benefiting from the likes of PVR and timeshifting etc. At least you then have an upgrade path. I'm currently only going to a JVC 28" TV myself while I save up for a plasma but I have a HTPC that connects wirelessly to the rest of my network where I have thousands of MP3s and (not quite as many) DVD-Video images all on demand from the click of a mouse button

    Not sure if I read that wrong but if you meant you were willing to spend £1400 on a brand new Tosh then you have enough to buy a projecter
     
  4. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,571
    The gains of htpc image wise are negligable on a tv, but the functionality may be useful, such as those suggested by TEK, as well as trailers and stuff like that.

    Using s-video from the graphics card is a start, but to get better image quality, you need rgb or component, and not many cards do that here in the UK. You'll probably get a better image from a standalone player using scart.

    Gary.
     
  5. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I havent actually bought the TV yet but Im considering it. Thing is I couldnt justify a projector / screen to the missus :D

    I DO also need a TV so projector just isn't justifiable atm. :)

    Hmm I think I'll go ahead and build it anyhow and maybe get an SD330 or something for DVDs until I can get a better display. I could still use it for the 4000 odd MP3s :)

    Is the SVIDEO-OUT to TV REALLY that bad?

    Dave
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Try to get a TV that will support PAL and NTSC progressive, then you have the option to have a nice progressive picture. Component input.

    You can get this through either a component output dongle for some ati based cards or a RGBHV to component transcoder.
     
  7. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,079
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,571
    S-video at best will be about the same as the s-video from any other dvd player I would think.

    Gary.
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    You could get an X-card which has the option of RGB SCART output.
     
  9. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    hmmmm..... i have an xcard and the best of its outputs doesnt even approach my old sony 735. And the s-video out from my radeon is best described as poor, and that's even looping it back through the h3d card.

    Ad
     
  10. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oooh that sounds good, thanks :) :smashin:

    Are the dongles expensive?? I'll go do a search I think, but any advice would be appreciated.

    Dave
     
  11. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've no idea Dave, I think they were a US only thing. I suspect someone on here can help though.
     
  12. gab2001uk

    gab2001uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you get yourself a plasma, then even if you have stand-alone DVD etc, you still gain:
    I have my HTPC connected to the Plasma via VGA, Sky and freeview via SCART->VGA using RGBHV into the component inputs and a s-VHS recorder into the s-video input. This way you can use the stand-alone boxes as normal,while the HTPC is busy with either recording or transcoding DVD or whatever, or if the wife does not know how to use the HTPC!
    Everybody is happy...
     
  13. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    For what it's worth,I use a UVEM HCPC with a Sigma X-card to run component video into my Toshiba 50" RPTV,and the image quality is much better than a Toshiba stand-alone DVD player,and the usability is also much better....no contest in my mind.
     
  14. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    alexs2: Do you also use the X-card to feed your normal PC 'desktop' etc into the TV or just the video overlay?

    That's assuming it will do the normal desktop on the component output.
     
  15. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Richard.....I use the S-video output from a Sapphire radeon to feed the PC desktop into the TV....a bit of a roundabout solution to not having a TFT monitor solely for the HCPC,but it works fine providing you dont mind the relatively low res display...also means I dont have to change any of the X-Card's settings for films etc.
     
  16. Majik

    Majik
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'd love to know if he does - it's pain in the proverbial switching between the two when I want to do some MAME.

    It works one way (XCard output > Graphics Card VGA > VGA output) but not the other!

    Majik
     

Share This Page

Loading...