1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC and GTS2 DDR

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Paul D, Apr 10, 2001.

  1. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I have just installed the geforce gts 2 32meg ddr. I connected this via the vga cable to my Tosh MT1z. I loaded PowerDVD 2.55 as the software player. I'am using the sonic fury 6ch sound card. Obviously the the picture is very sharp!. But i have noticed the graduations in colours are poor. Ie sky scenes have banding etc. Is there any thing i can do to reduce this, maybe using a different player etc. Just a note to other MT1 owners, the slight vertical panel structure you can get(with svideo) sometimes on certain dim scenes is not evident!.
     
  2. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Just a quick update. I've just tried using my laptops DVD player connected to the projector via the VGA lead, i noticed this gave a much better picture than the HCPC!(ie better graduation of colours). It uses "CineMaster" DVD software player with the ATI mobility P graphics card. Do you think it's the ATI or the Cinemaster thats giving the better picture?...Paul
     
  3. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Sorted! The answer was the software player.
    The cure was "Download DVDgenie" as its enables full Geforce "Motion Conpensation" as well as multi-region etc.
    And upgraded the player to WinDVD 2000M edition. Stunning! :eek:
     
  4. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Fulabeer,

    I had a quick go with a HTPC using my geforce 256 ddr, and powerDVD, although in my opinion it only seemed a little bit better I couldn't get rid of jerks in the picture (on pans).

    Obviously I tried all refresh rates and all resolutions, hardware and software motion compensation, bit depths. I have a fast PC (866) and it is well optimised but I coudln't find an ideal setting.

    Oh by the way I Have a MT1z. Could you give me your config please?
     
  5. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    hey fulabeer can you please tell me where you got your version of windvd!

    thanks

    jason
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    I found a huge improvement going from Powerdvd to WinDVD2K I also have dvdgenie and I'm running under W2Kpro.

    Difference was from unwatchable to perfection.
     
  7. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    EEErrrr....
    Email me and i may "erm" be able to let you know where you can download a ermm.... "Long evaluation" copy. LOL ;)
    Version 2.4 multichannel with full geforce motion compensation support.
    It plays very smoothly but on slow pans it's not a smooth as i standalone player.
    I found it to be much clearer than the powerdvd 3.0 player.
    Also the colours are more viberant.
    But i have yet to find a option of 1024x768 for widescreen auto mode as in powerdvd 3.0.
    Make sure you use Directx7 or 8 if poss and direct media 6+.
    Dma enabled in DVDrom options etc.
    Use dvd genie as well.
    I'am still playing with the settings and will post my findings.
    Specs:-
    AMD Athlon 800
    Asus A7v motherboard
    256MB of PC133 mem
    IBM 20GIG 7200rpm ultra66
    LG 12x DVDRom EIDE
    Sonic Fury 6 channel 5.1 etc
    Asus Geforce 2 GTS 32MB DDR
    WinDVD 2000M (multichannel)
    Windows ME
    Paul......
    :cool:
     
  8. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    PS, Make sure you connect the HCPC via the VGA lead and not the TV out etc.
    Some people recommend running windows at 800x600 or 1024x768 in 16 bit colour only, but i can't see any performance improvement.
    It does'nt effect the playback resolution as that is set by the playback software.
     

Share This Page

Loading...