HT-R518 DVD composite video / analog audio - no picture or sound!

dom_donald

Standard Member
Hi,

I am new to all this so apologies first of all..

I have a Popcorn Hour A110 and a HD satellite receiver connected to the AV receiver both using HDMI for video and Optical for audio. Both work fine. The TV is connected from the "HDMI out" on the AV receiver.

I also have a DVD player with an internal HDD for recording. This has an optical audio out, analog audio out (red and white cinch connector), s-video out and composite (?) video out (yellow cinch connector). I can't connect the audio to the AV receiver via the optical cable because I have already used up my 2 optical inputs from the PCH and the Sat receiver. (note: I think the PCH has a "coax" digital out, so I could free up one of the optical inputs on the AV receiver).

Anyway, I tried connecting the DVD player/recorder to the AV receiver using a cable with white/red/yellow cinch connectors for analogue audio and composite video. I also tried connecting via s-video to the AV receiver. But nothing works- I get no sound or picture. I have tried connecting the DVD player directly up to the TV and its fine.

I have checked on the AV receiver that no digital audio input is assigned but I don't know if there's anything else to check. Do I need to connect the AV receiver to the TV with another red/white/yellow analog audio and composite video table, as well as with the HDMI? I guess so, if the HDMI is only passed through the AV receiver..hmm...

But this would mean I need to change the AV input selection on the TV every time I am using the DVD player, which I guess is normal... but what's the point then putting the video from the DVD player through the AV receiver? Should the TV AV input selection change automatically?