1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HS50 & Arcam DV88 - Help PJ newbie!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by onefivenine, Jan 18, 2005.

Tags:
  1. onefivenine

onefivenine

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +647
    Hi Folks,

I'm on the brink of buying my first PJ - Sony HS50 - but I could use some advice... I've done a lot of digging about in this forum but I'm a PJ newbie.
    It seems that most folk are using HDMI/DVI feeds with the HS50... but hopefully someone can help.

To start with I'll be using a component RGB connection from the Arcam DV88.

My main question questions is, would I realise any benefit from getting a progressive scan upgrade for this player, for a progressive (component) feed? (My other option could be a second-hand DV88P which may work out to be in the same price ballpark as the £350 upgrade).

I have to admit I'm still confused by all the different progressive settings - 575's, 576's, 720's etc etc. - and am not sure if any of these are a factor. Do these settings apply to progressive component or are they specific to HDMI/DVI?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Dave

2. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +562
    From my limited knowledge of these things, progressive does not influence resolution, instead it's a more proficient way of painting the screen - analogous to the difference between 50Hz and 100Hz TV's.

The 576's , 720's etc are related to HDMI/DVI in terms of resolution. Remember a DVD will only output 576 lines (or 480 for NTSC) so HDMI/DVI won't buy you more resolution from DVD's, what it will get you is potentially cleaner images (because there's no D/A and A/D conversion) and the ability to scale the image to a higher res outside the projector (eg HTPC or some high end DVD players)....PJ

3. Blue2

Blue2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: