1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hs50 and dv 79 hic up

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by clancol, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ive got my Arcam Dv79 connected to my Hs50 via hdmi and i've got a strange problem.

    when i connect the machine via (cr p pb dr sr vd am pb tb) or whatever it's called)
    I get sever vertical banding on anything the colour red. i sopose a bit like the croma bug but much more intense.

    If i change the setting to output RGB via hdmi the are no such problems.

    This happens when it outputing proggresive and interlaced.

    help my obi forum members, your my only hope. :confused:
     
  2. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    I know that you have proberly checked the leads to ensure that they are fitted snuggly my padawan learner ;)

    If you have what about swapping the leads over ie sticking the blue leads in the red and vice versa to illiminate a dodgey lead :)

    Thata about the best I can come up with until a true master comes along :rotfl:
     
  3. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes master daws, that is a wise statement however you may have been missled by the dark side, as i'm using a hdmi lead and not componant.
     
  4. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Now, Im confused :confused: Not hard I know ;)

    How have you got the 2 linked up, HDMI or Component or both?
     
  5. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have them connected by hdmi and only hdmi!
     
  6. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    So whats with the "when i connect the machine via (cr p pb dr sr vd am pb tb) or whatever it's called)" :confused:

    Is this a setting on the Dv79?

    My Pioneer 868 only has the option of HDMI and then at what scale 720p 1080i ect.
     
  7. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    i hope your being sarcastic.
    when you connect a unit via hdmi, you can send the signal in two forms. digital-RGB or y pb pr (i think).
    so when i send the y pb pr signal i get band banding on the red. when i send a rgb signal i don't.
     
  8. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    I wasnt being sarcy :)


    I didnt know that you could select either RGB or Component. Just read my Pioneer manual, well a little of it and I think I have found your problem.



    You may find that changing the HDMI colour adjust setting causes colour problems on your monitor. You can correct this by choosing an input setting on your monitor according to the Video Adjust setting you've selected. Note that you wont be able to switch the input setting with some monitors.

    It then gives a little table.


    .........................Monitor input setting ......................HDMI colour adjust

    Direct ................Component ...................................Standard

    Natural ..............Component................................... Standard

    Enhanced ...........RGB..............................................Enhanced


    So according to this it something to do with what your HS50 and DV79 input/outputs are selected to.
     
  9. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Any joy?

    I went around my mates house the other day. He's got a Pioneer 868 hooked up to a HS50 via HDMI and Sky+ via component.

    Now when watching the 868 the picture fits nicely onto the screen ie no over-lapping or bits clipped. Perfect framing. However when selected to component to watch Sky+ there is a massive amount of over-lapping on all aspects. Its like the image has been zoomed out 3-4 inches on all aspects :confused:

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
     
  10. kgulls

    kgulls
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +12
    Interested in the outcome of this problem as I will be connecting using the same sources.Already have the Dv79 and purchased the Sony yesterday.I think I got a pretty good deal (£1500.00 plus the firmware update and 12 months guarantee on everything including the lamp :D )but was wondering if this is anything to be concerned about.
     

Share This Page

Loading...