1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HS20, z2, AE300 or Something Else???

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by terminal santa, Jan 19, 2004.

1. terminal santa

terminal santa

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Folks

Total Newbie here - i guess you guys (and girls) get this all the time, but would be really grateful of your collective advice.

Been playing with buying a pj for a while and finally summoned up the financial courage to do it but a little uncertain of the model to go for.

Went for a demo of the HS20 before xmas and was blown away, but it is £800 (or thereabouts) more than the z2.

I will be using it in a non dedicated environment (not perfectly light controlled), with a pull down screen in front of my TV, behind which are my bay windows, and looking at projecting an image about 2.3m diag widescreen from a distance of about 4 meters.

Would be interested to hear your recommendations on the above projectors - or whether there is a model i am missing out on...and suggestions for a good dealer mail order or high street who be competitive but also provide a good standard of service.

Hope you folks can help...

Cheers

Matt

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    I upgraded from an AE300 to a Z2, so I guess that shows my preference. :) .. the Z2 produces an undoubtedly better picture, largely due to its' superior contrast, meaning darker blacks. The lens shift function is also very, very handy in allowing a degree of flexibility in positioning it.

The HS20 is probably better than the Z2, on paper at least, though one would need to side-by-side compare.