1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HS20 or VWHT12

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by sneaky, Dec 14, 2003.

1. sneaky

sneaky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I am a newbie so please be patient with me.

At present I have a Sony 32" TV, Sony 525 DVD, 4 * Tannoy M3'S, Tannoy MC and a Yamaha 795a Amp.

I was going to change the whole of my system but after having a demonstration at SevenOaks Newcastle of there Sim2 and M&K Speakers which I was looking to buy, I have decided to just get a projector and DVD. The sound on the M & K's with Top End Amp and Processor didn't hold a candle to my sound setup may sound strange but I couldn't believe it either. I wish I had taken the film HEAT with which I could have done true comparison of the delicate sounds of the cigarette being lit, a chicken bone breaking and those bullets hitting the floor outside the bank. Maybe there is something wrong with my ears.

I thought the Sim2 20 was good but I have also seen the HS20 and the Sim2 is not imho £1600 better and in some respects wasn't better at all.

So my question to you guys HS20 or VWHT12 (I WOULD HAVE JUST GOT THE HS20 BUT THE 12 IS ONLY £650 DEARER AT SOME PLACES).

Also will HDMI offer me anything better than the component if I went for the HS20.

The DVD's I am looking at are Denon 2900, Pioneer 868/668.

Thanks for your help.

2. vulkan75

vulkan75

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

I think the VWHT12 doesn't have dvi...So,if you wanted to go the digital route via hcpc in the future tha t would be a problem.

Also the hs20 has HDMI faciilitys wheras the VWHT12 does not.

I think what you need to look at here is future proofing,which,with the hs20 yr more or less covered.especialy with the onset of HDTV.