Hp Laptop blue screen NTFS.sys

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by sep8001, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Hi

    A friend has a HP laptop that does not reach the Win 10 login screen.

    On boot it gives a blue screen with NTFS.sys error. It tried to run the repair but still fails and we get the same blue screen.

    Is there anyway of getting into the laptop or trying to get the data out without removing the HD?

    Thank you
     
  2. LJx

    LJx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +431
    can you boot into safe mode
     
  3. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Don't have the laptop but he said he did try and that did not work.

    Running a system test shows issue with the RAM.
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,254
    Everything is loaded into memory to run, so if you're having memory issues then everything gets corrupted. Including the repair process and file transfers. Your best bet is to pull the hard drive or fix the hardware fault.

    If you do want to try it in software then I would reach for a LiveCD (or USB). That'll be able to read the contents of the drive provided it's not encrypted. Be sure to inspect every file you transfer to make sure it's not corrupted though, you will need to re-transfer some and don't be surprised if that crashes too.
     
  5. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Download Ubuntu iso burnt to cd via Imageburn, but cannot get it to boot into Ubuntu.

    Any other suggestions? Thank you
     
  6. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,254
    What's going wrong with Ubuntu? If you've tried it a couple of times and had different errors then that's likely your faulty memory.

    If it wasn't compatible then you could try a different distro like Mint.
     
  7. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Thank you @EndlessWaves for all the help and suggestions will give that distro a go.

    I have managed to get into DOS using the recovery option and have managed to copy some of the files to a portable HD, going to try robocopy to see if I can copy all the files and folder.
     
  8. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Used robocop to copy all the necessary files and folders to hd.

    She is going to take the laptop back to Curry's for them to sort out the issue as it is only 8 months old.

    Thank you for the help Endless waves.
     
  9. Unreliable

    Unreliable
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Scotland, just outside Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +6
    Might get lucky and its just a dead/damage ram module/slot, you could try and just pull a ram sticks and see if that solves the issue, then try the other stick/slot
     
  10. sep8001

    sep8001
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +260
    Thanks, the laptop was under warranty so it has gone back to Currys, will update what the issues was once it comes back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice