How would you connect Apple TV to in ceiling speakers for best results?

highnotes

Standard Member
I've searched through the forums, but couldn't find an answer to this. Here is the situation. I want to use an Apple TV instead of a Sonos for audio only. The problem is that it has no amp for passive speakers and it only has HDMI/Optical out.

From searching I'm getting the impression I need a DAC & Amp combo, but I'm a bit of a newb and it is entirely unclear to me what would be best to do this. I'm really intrigued by the iBasso D10 but isn't this really for portable? It looks like I can have it powered but then I'm not clear whether it will provide enough power to drive the Polk TC60i which I think take 100 watts per channel. If I need an amp in addition to something like the iBasso how would you connect them and what amp would you recommend?

I know this is kind of an odd setup, so I appreciate your ideas. Thanks!

davepuma

Distinguished Member
That is a headphone amp.
You need a separate DAC eg Beresford or CA DACMagic and a stereo amp. Stereo anps don't tend to have digital inputs or DACs.

Alternatively an AV Receiver driving just 2 channels will do the job.

Are you using the apple tv for video streaming as well?

If not and you haven't purchased the Apple tv yet I would suggest visiting the digital music player sub-forum. The likes of squuezebox already have a more than adequate DAC on board.

highnotes

Standard Member
Thanks davepuma! I really appreciate your insight. I'm using Apple TV's to drive audio/video in rooms with televisions and in those cases it is straight forward because I always have a tuner that can take HDMI and power the speakers. I'm also using (or wanting to use!) Apple TV's for zoned audio in the other rooms. In those cases there would be no video.