1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How was the first PlayStation received

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by mikeq, Nov 8, 2002.

1. mikeq

mikeq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I posted a question in another thread, which has now been locked. The question was

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Hi all,

I'm quite new to the games console scene, I have an xbox and my son has a PS2.

When the first Playstation came out was there similar discussions/arguments about which was the best games console available, and that the PS1 would never be any good etc etc.

or was it clear from the start that the PS would be the best thing since sliced bread?

Just curious as I don't have a strong view on which console is better. Personally I bought an xbox because I wanted that one and my son got a PS2 because he wanted that one.

Mike
    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

I received a reply from Sinzer, thanks Sinzer. Although that reply was more about why the PS2 became popular.

I was more curious about the reception the first PlayStation received compared to the other consoles available at the time, as I wasn't really into games consoles when it was released, I was wondering if the same discussions/arguments went on about the PlayStation 1 vs 'Current popular console' as we now see about the XBox vs the PS2.

Mike

2. James45

James45
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    changed the face of modern gaming... made it cool.

3. common

common

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Made it cool...with a little help from Wipeout

Sold on a one to one basis with the Playstation.

Really exciting times when a product actually met and exceded expectations

4. lechacal

lechacal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +66