how to ?

jaypam27

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I just got some speaker cable, Audioquest FLX-SLiP 14/4, It has 4 strands, green, red, black and white.

I am connecting to a pair of B&W 685's and then into a Yamaha RX-V373.

I am quite new to this, does anyone know what color strand will connect to which terminal on the speakers and the amp ?

Any help would be much appreciated, Thanks

Hi all,

I just got some speaker cable, Audioquest FLX-SLiP 14/4, It has 4 strands, green, red, black and white.

I am connecting to a pair of B&W 685's and then into a Yamaha RX-V373.

I am quite new to this, does anyone know what color strand will connect to which terminal on the speakers and the amp ?

Any help would be much appreciated, Thanks
On the speaker ends, it doesn't really matter which colour to which terminal, as long as the same colour goes to the same polarity on the amp.
For biwiring: If you connect [High+ to Red, Low+ to Green], [High- to black, Low- to White] then on the amp side, [Red and Green to the + terminal] and [Black and White to - terminal].

Can't remember if the 373 can bi-amp (passively) but if it can that will be slightly different to biwire case above.

Since you are new, I recommend the followings:
  • Use an easy to remember convention. Like the example above, coloured strands to +, no colour to -. Or since your speakers are B&W, no colour to +, coloured to -. Whichever way, keep it consistent to all the speakers.
  • Unless your equipments are going to be in the same place for a long time, get some good banana plugs. They make things a lot more convenient to rearrange stuff as you can plug and unplug with ease (instead of fiddling with cable and connectors). They also reduce the chance of any loose strand shorting your terminals.

Nice speakers, btw. :thumbsup:

Thankyou so much, I shall give it a try when I get home.

Yes they are lovely speakers, my babies :D