1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to wire this up

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by SunTzu, Oct 11, 2004.

1. SunTzu

SunTzu
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    i've been collecting home entertainment equipment for a couple of years now whilst living in rented accomadation so i've never really installed it properly.

so the time has come to buy a house (which i've actually just found out may have fallen through but we have to put a brave face on these things :cool: )
    and wire it all properly, because my girlfriend can't stand the wires :blush: .

i've been thinking about it and looking at my gear thinking theres got to be some way of rigging it all up so its user (girlfriend) friendly, heres a list of my equipment

nec vt45 projector
    xbox (currently used as dvd and media player aswell as games)
    marantz sr5200 surround amp
    kef kht 2005 speakers
    cambridge audio universal remote
    tv
    pc

i would like to wire it all up so i can watch all av sources through the tv and the projector, listen to everything through the amp and get the most out of all my equipment but with the minimum amount of switches (which is the only way i can think of doing it). i would also like to make it so i can easily add more sources, so i can plug a dvd player in when i get one and my gamecube and other consoles in when i can be arsed to dig them out

i am on a limited budget because of the move but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated and much considered also any suggestions to good cableing practices because i want to hide all the wires would be great to

:thumbsup:

2. owain_thomas

owain_thomas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +81