1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to use a signal booster

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by vick, Dec 21, 2003.

1. vick

vick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please could anyone help I have a labgear signal booster which has two sockets called 'tv' and 'in'

I have a 1 scart nokia mediamaster 121t but I do not know how to set up the booster.

This is what I have tried so far:
    What I did was the following when trying to set up the booster:

1.Connected the scart lead to the back of the box and then in to the back of the TV.

2.Then put the aerial (indoor) RF lead to the 'in' socket on the booster

3.Then put an RF lead from 'tv' socket on the booster to the back of the box

4. Next I put an RF cable from the back of the box to the VCR

5. And finally I put an RF lead from the back of the VCR to the RF socket on the back of the TV.

When I switched everything on I had a missing signal message appear on screen.

Could anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thanks

2. gbmitie

gbmitie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56
    vick u are trying to pick up a digital signal with an indoor aerial!!!

have u checked where u live to see what kind of strength the digital signal has?

gm--

3. jakefraser

jakefraser

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will NEVER, EVER pick up freeview with an indoor aerial! Even with a magic signal booster.
    You need a wideband outdoor aerial mounted in the loft or outdoors directed at the signal emitter in your area. Check on the BBC website for freeview coverage.

4. gbmitie

gbmitie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56
    thanks jake

gb--

5. GaryB

GaryB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,264