• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

How to thread thick speaker cable up inside speaker stands

adypearson

Standard Member
Hi, as you can probably tell I'm a novice when it comes to audio visual, but I'm trying to hook up my new KEF surround sound system and before I've even started I've come across a problem.
I purchased 20 metres of Cambridge Audio Ultra 100 speaker cable which is quite thick and comes with a thick clear plastic jacket ending in a figure of 8 shape. The problem I have is threading this through the relatively thin KEF speaker stands. (see picture of cable ends and speaker stands opening)
Is there a simple way of getting this cable up through the 4 stands? I'm concerned I'll have to strip the plastic jacket completely off, then somehow cover it again to prevent them touching the stands and producing interference. Someone suggested using heat shrink? But I've never done that before so wouldn't feel comfortable trying that even though he said it would be easy (but he was an electronics expert!).

Again I apologise if this is a silly question but it really is perplexing me with my limited cable/electronics knowledge!
Thanks
Adrian

Attachments

• stands.jpg
    stands.jpg
    109 KB · Views: 304

Don't try taking the plastic coating off. You'll end up shorting the speakers/amp

If the cable won't physically fit inside the column then I'm afraid there is no alternative but to buy a different, thinner, cable

If it is a case of being unable to pull the cable through the column because of a tight fit, then use a thin metal rod, such as a piece of metal coat hanger straightened out, firmly attached to the end of the cable to pull the cable through the column

larkone

Distinguished Member
You could try splitting the cable and then pull it through