How to take movie screenshots with an SLR

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Anim, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bollington, Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hey all

    Whats the best way to take Movie screen shots using an SLR camera, any tips?

    ISO Shutter speed etc

    I want to do a test between a WM9 720p version of Fifth Element to the standard DVD and see if I can post em up here for you guys to see.

    Ta
    Anim
     
  2. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +132
    This picture was taken with a EOS350D DSLR.

    [​IMG]

    The EXIF data reads...

    File size 150458 bytes
    File date 09-Dec-2006 02:37:11
    Camera make Canon
    Camera model Canon EOS 350D DIGITAL
    Date/Time 2006:12:08 00:00:52
    Resolution 800 x 534
    Flash No
    Focal length 31.0mm (31/1)
    35mm equivalent 0mm
    CCD width 22.20mm
    Exposure time 0.077 s (1/13)
    Aperture f/3.5
    ISO equivalent 800
    Exposure bias 0.00 (0/2)
    Exposure program (auto)
    Jpeg process Baseline

    Its basically in point and shoot mode for ease of use, I tried it in shutter priority and manual mode but there was too much to take into account because of the variable light levels on the screen.
     
  3. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bollington, Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +62
    Cool thanks for that. I will have a go with mine later (Nikon D50).
     
  4. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,915
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +3,394
    I think the key points are a fast(ish) shutter speed with a high ISO number (equivalent of a faster film speed) and a large aperture (allows more light in).

    And not having the flash on ;)

    Gary
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,184
    I find a slower shutter speed is needed as a faster one comes out too dark (even at F2.8). I do it manually at either F2.8 or F5.6 (depends on how bright the scene is) and a slower speed of around 1.3 seconds.
     
  6. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,915
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +3,394
    Good point - though that would be for a paused image. If you want to take a pic with a moving image a faster shutter speed etc would be needed to prevent blurring.

    Gary
     
  7. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,184
    I only take paused images. I also have to put the camera in front of the projector (it is on a stand) as I don't have a tripod. It means I get a lot of unwanted space so, I have to crop it.
     
  8. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,915
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +3,394
    I'll have to have a look at what my digital does. It's not an expensive one but I've taken a couple of shots with it in auto mode and I can't remember if I paused the images or not. I've a feeling I didn't but will have to check since my memory isn't that good with things like this. :)

    Gary
     
  9. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,672
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +325
    :rotfl:
     
  10. JaniH

    JaniH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Ratings:
    +4
  11. anibap

    anibap
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +613
    I always use the Night shot mode without flash by puasing the image or freezing the image.

    For dark scenes i use a 2 sec speed manually.

    DSLRS have better options. found it when my friend took some pictures during our HD experiment.
     
  12. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bollington, Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +62
    So in summary:

    Lowest ISO your camera will go to and use aperature priority, let the camera handle shutter speed, don't use any zoom, 50mm lens if possible. I have an 18-70mm.

    At this slow shutter speed its best to use a timer or remote trigger to avoid hand shake.

    Edit: And no flash :)

    Anim
     
  13. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    i always stick the camera in night mode, too high an ISO will introduce unwanted noise to the image, thou not so bad with a quality SLR.
    Some zoom is fine, as long as the camera does not engage the digital zoom, which can then add all kinds of nasties.

    Im lazy so i just choose nightmode and the rest is in 'AUTO' mode. (flash off)
     
  14. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,915
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +3,394
    Good point about image noise with higher film speed. Does that happen even with digitals?

    Gary
     
  15. Penfold73

    Penfold73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yes, digitals are quite prone to image noise in low light conditions.
     
  16. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    Ok so you are taking pictures of a still image then my settings etc would be

    Manual settings as you're using a SLR.
    ISO>lowest, always;)
    Aperture> F8'ish as that is usually a lenses sweet spot, especially kit lenses.
    Shutter speed, start at 1/60th (viewing throught the viewfinder will warn if the image will be under or over exposed) and view image and histogram and adjust accordingly, its digital so take as many as you want :D
    Sit camera on a tripod/shelf/table to eliminate camera shake.
    Use the timer and or remote, if you're really anal then use mirror lockup:devil:

    Please be aware the resulting image will bare no resemblence to the actual image but they're alway good to see ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...