1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to sustain lamp life?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tonyeck, Nov 2, 2003.

1. tonyeck

tonyeck

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am fairly new to PJ's but I have my AE200 coming tomorrow and am quite excited! I have just built my own diy screen and cant wait to set it up...

Knowing me, I know I will worry about the lamp life and will be switching it on and off all the time... That is obviosuly bad! so is there any suggestions people can give me to make the lamps last longer? things to do, not to do etc...??

Thanks guys

2. theritz

theritz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    The main thing with lamp-life is to avoid hot/warm restarts - if you turn off the projector, let it cool down completely before starting it up again.

As far as PJs in general, a non-smoking environment (smoke seriously gums up the internals....), don't have an over-warm environment (gives the projector a hard time keeping cool...) and clean the filter regularly.... if it gets clogged up, it also prevents enough air from getting into the projector = heat damage to the optics.

Enjoy your new toy.....

Sean G.

3. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1