1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to share replays

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by techmob, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. techmob

    techmob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    hi there, i've noticed some sites that share their goals etc, how do they do it

    i want to be able to save the replays from my xbox to my pc so i can show people my goals etc

    thanks
     
  2. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    I dunno mate, can't you ask on the sites that do it? and then come back and tell us!
     
  3. techmob

    techmob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    i saw it on one of the links on this site, http://www.pesmoves.com/

    if i find out i'll let you know, same with anyone else please thanks
     
  4. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    I'm guessing this is the PC version and they have used FrAPS or something ? If its been captured on a console then yer I really want to know !
     
  5. techmob

    techmob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    well there is a hardware addon you can get for the xbox which allows you to transfer replays to the pc, but another way i thought it might be possible, is with a capture card, stick a capture card in pc and capture whats on the tv through the xbox, hence saving the replays on the pc
     
  6. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    hardware addon option ? got a link ?
     
  7. stumpy_uk

    stumpy_uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    In front of My PC
    Ratings:
    +7
    Most of the people use a capture card on their PC to record the goals a few use the DV Camera to do it. There is no utility to export the goal so you need to capture it in some way. Cheapest way is to buy a TV card and just connect the Video Cable etc and capture as AVI.
     
  8. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Had a brainwave. Some DV camcorders have an analog input (mine has!) so in theory i could connect the camcorder to one of the spare scarts on the back of my tv, hit record, play the game, score loads of goals, upload them to my pc, and then try to work out how to get you guys to see them.

    I know nothing about web hosting so if anyone has the space or knowledge i'll glady email or messenger the files to you.

    I'll try it out tomorrow evening with a replay that i've got saved to see if it does work, so if anyone will be around tomorrow night for me to send the file to give me a shout.
     
  9. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Id be happy to host a few goals on the site .. was thinking of having a goal of the wekk spot etc .. that we can all vote on ...
     
  10. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    I've the process of getting the replay data to my camcorder(but at the moment i don't have a scart splitter that has an s-video connector, get tomorrow) so i've been testing it with my sky+ box. So i now have a 30ish second clip that is about 34mb(when i transfered via USB) and the same file at 192mb(via firewire), so who wants to post these on the net?(when i get the replay data), can i make them smaller(they're MPEG's)? etc etc etc! :)
     
  11. techmob

    techmob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    yeah ud be better of compressing the video, probably converting it to divx, make the file size smaller, way to big as it is...
     
  12. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    How do i do that then? what software will i need? it needs to be 'free' :devil: and where do i get it?
     
  13. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    You wont be able to use the scart on your tv. On most sets the scart sockets are for input only. An easy way to capture would be with a DVD recorder with RGB pass through.

    My Panny has it and I imagine most others do as well. Just plug the xbox into the rgb socket NTL is normally plugged into and you can record straight to DVD. Can then use Pinnacle studio or one of the many other utils you can get from vcdhelp.co.uk, Imesh etc to get the clip out of DVD format and into mpeg etc etc etc.

    Obviously you would need a DVD recorder but isnt all this more hastle than its worth ?
     
  14. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Not a problem, scart number 2 is in and out, its just i need the scart adaptor to make it work, which isn't a problem.
     
  15. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    yer as long as its only a few mbs each im happy to host
     
  16. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,365
    Assuming you're using Windows XP, Windows Movie Maker 2.1 will do the trick for reducing the file size/changing format, and its free. (cheapskate :p )
     
  17. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Hmm, all my genius plans have failed to bear fruit. I won't go into details but it didnt work :mad: so plan b it is. This is plan B AVerTV Box 3 i'll be getting one proper cheap which i think will do the job (best bloody do) but i won't be getting it till the first week of Jan when i also plan to get one of these babies Samsung 172x so everything should be sorted in the new year :clap: :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...