1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to set up a sub

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by sparkymarky, May 2, 2004.

  1. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    Tried a quick search but will post as well.

    Could someone please lists a basic idiots guide to setting levels please?
    I have an spl meter, snapbug test tones and (dve if req'd).
    Step by step would be good.

    1. I have set front,centre and rear speakers to 75db
    2. next set the sub level by.................



    thanks in advance
     
  2. ridd

    ridd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    nothamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    you set the sub level in exactly the same way.
    Does your processor/reciever not have a sub test tone?
     
  3. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    unfortunately not no.

    That left me wondering what frequency i should use to set the 75db level?? e.g, the bottom ish end of the scale around 20hz or the top end around 90hz amp crossover level or something different???
     
  4. ridd

    ridd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    nothamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    look on dve disk and see if they have an LFE tone.
    If not i think you want to get yourself a copy of AVIA as this has tones (pink noise) for all channels (5.1 anyway) Only you set at 85db with this disk.
    Your servo will be alot quieter (less db) at 20hz than at 90hz.
    Getting avia is the best way to go as there are so many usefull things on the disk.

    Mark
     
  5. Nimby

    Nimby
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +669
    It won't only be audibly quieter (nearly silent) it won't register so high on the Tandy/RadioShack SPL meter either.

    I used 1Hz stepped tones and discovered by crossover point was ten dB down at the original setting that exactly matched my florstanders (in theory only).

    Nimby
     
  6. Nimby

    Nimby
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +669
    Response using 1 Hz stepped sinewave tones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...