• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question How to safely terminate cat 6 cable in home network?

eirerocks

Novice Member
Firstly, let me start by saying that I am an absolute novice when it comes to networking so apologies in advance for stupid questions...

Last month I was re-wiring my house and due to time pressures did not have a chance to properly research data cabling. I ended up installing cat6 F/UTP cable in walls and I now realize this was really dumb, as it's overkill, fussy and cat5e would have been fine, or even regular cat6 UTP. :(

Anyway, its done now and I cannot easily pull through new cables without quite a bit of destruction.

I was not planning on having a patch panel or anything complex. All i want is the ability to connect my router to a network faceplate in study where i have ran cables to faceplate in bedroom (for Playstation) and downstairs (TV room)

I have read a few things online about the need to use shielded keystone jacks / faceplates, mod plugs etc and ensure proper grounding of the drain wire that touches the foil shielding. I have also read that if you get the grounding wrong it can
a) really degrade the performance of the cables and
b) is dangerous from an overheating / risk of ground loops etc. and this is the bit I really do not understand.

Q. Anyone got any recommendations of company in London who I could pay to help me complete this job safely (with proper testing equipment to ensure its all good)

Q. Is there any best practice guidance around what needs to be in place when using shielded cat 6 in an residential basic network example with no patch panel. i.e. i hear one person say do not worry about grounding at all, others say ground one end, and some others say to ground all ends.