How to run cable under the stairs

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by 10crazyfists, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've hit a bit of a learning curve here. I thought I could follow the path where the electrician had laid the cabling to run my cat6 cables. Turns out the lazy bugger went a different path and to follow that path means destroying the landing ceiling.

    I want to run cable to the under stairs cupboard and was thinking I could do so by going through the stairs and up onto the landing. I will take some pictures soon and show what I mean

    Has anyone got advice on this as I just need to get to the landing part of my stairs and im good to go from there.
     
  2. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Where the electrician run to.
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391268184.349835.jpg



    Where I want to get to
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391268226.716851.jpg

    Ignore the carpet the previous owners were the dingles it's all going.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  3. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Where node 0 will be
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391268338.132996.jpg
     
  4. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Here is directly above the cupboard
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391268656.065317.jpg
    I'm thinking if I take the panel off the stairs here and run cable through I will be good to go.
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391268716.465613.jpg
     
  5. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    As you're going to renovate the house, just gut that cupboard under the stairs.

    It will be far easier to run the cables afterwards and you'll get a much better finish for minimal extra cost.
     
  6. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Cheers geps yes will be doing that but that arch is where the cables are laid. In all honesty with the amount of shoddy work I've found I think I'm going to cable the house myself and get it passed off. But for now I'm just going to run some cat6 to the one room.
    Here's what I'm seeing now
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391269716.547892.jpg
    Do you think it possible to go through the bullnose on the stairs and up onto first floor?
     
  7. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    *Treads I meant. Take those off and I should be seeing a connecting panel which I can drill through and run cables? Not sure on the layout of stairs really.

    So im hoping from the undstairs cupboard drill through the timbers up through the first stair then onto the other and I should be out onto the landing. Right?
     
  8. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    If I'm honest it's really not clear where these photos are being taken from, and where you're trying to get the cable from/to.
     
  9. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry geps I can see your point.

    From the top:
    Archway above landing
    stairs leading to landing
    understairs cupboard
    landing under cupboard
    steps to landing

    What I asking basically is those three stairs upto the landing will they have a cross timber support that I can drill through and access the landing. I can see that the top of the stairs does so there must be on the other two steps.

    Also if you look at the understairs cupboard you will see the timber support directly where the wiring is running there is a joist/support I am thinking that supports the first area under the cupboard and if I drill through I will then be accessing the top stairs?

    Very hard to put into words really but I know what I mean :D
     
  10. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391272675.650180.jpg

    Drilling through this timber I'm hoping will meet with the landing. But first my 24v drill battery needs a good charge
     
  11. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    I can't figure out what the electrician has done. If you look at the pic where cables are. He's gone behind the timber support for the stairs in a curve then it appears he's gone into a bedroom and back to the landing and though to other rooms. That plastic capping he put on serves no purpose as he just chucked it in and half of the wiring wasn't covered.

    I'm going to renew the staircase I think also as it's been butchered by council cowboys in the past as well as the floorboards that haven't even been cut near a joist just screws put under the board and it bounces like mad. I can't believe nobody has gone through it yet. My OCD is giving me nightmares :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2014
  12. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Are you familiar with wiring safe zones?

    If so, do those cables conform? It doesn't look like it from that pic (but then it doesn't show the whole wall).
     
  13. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well after more
    Yes I know a little - They are not 50mm where mechanical protection is not introduced as they are supposed to be for a start. Plus the capping is just useless. I have uncovered more which I will post over the coming days such as cable laid on heating pipes and it is scorched. What a nightmare its turning into.
     
  14. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Wifey took the child to a party so I decided to destroy some stuff

    A crude way of wiring until I strip the ceiling and plasterboard it tomorrow
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391354798.845459.jpg

    That's 4 wires two to each room. Was going to run 4 to upstairs tv but I think it will be fine. Didn't do the third room as its just been decorated (one of the first we done for our little one) Think I could possibly go through the wall where my office is however at a later date but I doubt she will want a tv for a few years yet :D
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391354861.762101.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2014
  15. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Then some more mayhem under the stairs. Left it looped for now as I plan to rip up the flooring and carpets next week so will terminate to the points then.
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1391354937.812274.jpg
     
  16. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ordered this tonight looking forward to punching down the cables. Wish I had a practise run first.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    I recommend you read up on the safe notching and drilling guidelines, unlikely to be a problem in that joist, but I won't be drilling there in other joists;)
     
  18. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Geps where should I of gone as I've another 14 cables to run through yet so will need a bigger hole this time. Was going to notch and add a steel plate but I'd take most of the joist out!

    Only got a 25mm spade bit. But I do have a 60mm hole saw!!
     
  19. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Remember for HDMi over Cat6 you shouldn't use a patchpanel but wire direct into transmitter and receiver
     
  20. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yep cheers seb as mentioned I will be using solid core for that also terminated both ends with an RJ45. Running 2 in total to each point for hdmi over cat6. That should sucfice?
     
  21. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Sorry lots of threads so missed that we had already discussed.

    Yes two should be fine as flexibility then to use HDBAseT (1 x Cat6 HDMI distribution) or dual CAT6 HDMi distribution then one/two via Patchpanel for IP networking (Smart TV, Streaming, Wireless access points, local network points for PCs etc)
     
  22. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Cheers makes sense. I will be going down the route of a matrix I have seen some pretty good rack mountable ones going for £400-£500 so just got to tell the wifey it's needed. That's a job in itself :)
     
  23. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Which ones have you seen, as you need to be careful as some don't route IR correctly. I will of course be still recommending our own at £499+VAt - 5% AVforum discount!!

    Seb
     
  24. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just looking at the BaseT variety with IR passback. Seen an 8 way one for 3k that is very nice and if I was allowed I would go for it as its ready for 4K it states but at the moment im just looking. Something that's going to be easy to program into a remote and work well without any issue of lag etc.
     
  25. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    From £500 to £3k is a big jump. Watch out for ones that don't actually include the receivers in the price as suddenly the price can jump up.

    We obviously also have our 8x8 HDBaset Matrix with POC and Ir routing at £3250+VAt, but sure I could do you a deal!!

    Professional 8x8 HDBaseT Matrix with 8 Receivers - 4K2K Version



    Seb
     
  26. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Oh no the wifey won't allow me a 3k spend! I will be looking to finalise the distribution in march when the other trades have been and gone so I will keep your website saved.

    Cheers
     
  27. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Going to sound very much like a pushy salemans but we only have a few of the dual Cat6 4x4's left as we are moving primarily to HDBaseT so cant be sure there will be any left in march.

    Seb
     
  28. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Crazyfists, why not start up your own build thread? You're at the start of a project and already got 2 threads on the go and this one has already gone OT. That way it's all in one place then and you can still ask your questions.
     
  29. 10crazyfists

    10crazyfists
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    @Geps you didn't say where you would drill in joist. I'm planning on adding another 10-14 cables inc speaker cable. Would I be ok to drill into the joist more or will I damage it's integrity?
     
  30. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Check the safe notching and drilling guidelines I mentioned. There are all sorts out there on the internet from the building authorities. They show you where and how you can modify the joists without taking out all the strength of them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...