How to record radio from freeview?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by terence8888, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. terence8888

    terence8888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    I want to record a particular performance on Radio 3. I have a Pioneer Freeview box and also a PC with a sound card (ESI U24) that accepts digital output. I woudl like to record from the freeview box onto my computer using the digital output. Is this do-able? What software do I need (preferrably freeware)?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    u need a digital input on your sound card and an optical/digi co-ax cable to connect the two together. or just use a 3.5mm jack from the box to the mic jack on the sound card. then use sound recorder under Start/Programs/Accessories/Entertainment (in XP)

    and that will record it as a Wave file.

    hth,

    jammy
     
  3. terence8888

    terence8888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the tip. Do you know if there is a limit of the size of recorded file? I wanted to record an opera which is quite long (about 3hrs).

    I've got plenty of disk space so it shoudl not be a concern.
     
  4. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    i don't think so. although i'd suggest going to downloads.com and seeing if there are any better recorders than the standard windows one. maybe one that records to mp3 not only saving space but mite be a bit less processor intensive. in wav format its about 10mb a minute. so 3 hours is goin to be 1800mb+! whereas in mp3 at say 128 bitrate, it'll be 180mb!

    jammy
     
  5. terence8888

    terence8888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    cheers!
     
  6. speculatrix

    speculatrix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I use audiograbber which is a superb piece of software, not only does it rip CDs very well it has a good line-in sampler which can be set to detect gaps.
    I believe if your machine is fast enough you can sample and mp3 encode at the the same time; although I personally grab to .WAV and encode afterwards (use the LAME.dll encoder).

    :lesson:
    Bear in mind the sampling rate is 10% higher than CD, at 48kHz, but you'll be needing 500MB or so for one hour of audio.

    I do this with sat broadcasts off radio4, compressing at 192kbps @48kHz joint stereo and get excellent results.

    Defragment the disk regularly too.

    good luck
    Paul
     
  7. speculatrix

    speculatrix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    p.s. audiograbber used to be fully commercial-ware but is now freeware. it's so good that way back when I bought it.
     
  8. terence8888

    terence8888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for all the replies.... I settled on using audacity (freeware) to record... I have used it before to edit wav files but it turned out that it very good at recording too.....

    My set up is now pioneer stb -> (toslink) ESI U24 -> (USB) PC. Hopefully will work when the program is on!!!! Fingers crossed!
     

Share This Page

Loading...