1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to mute sound on Sony KV-32FX68E!!??

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Sugus, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

    I got a Sony KV-32FX68E tv conected to a Denon 3805 amp and I am really happy with them but for a single problem: the only way to muting TV (so sound comes only from amp) is to navigate through the tv menus and desactivate the sound of the tv's speakers... and the problem is that everytime I turn off the tv, that process should be done again... truly annoying :mad:

    Does any of you know how to mute the TV permanently??

    Thanks all!

    Cheers
     
  2. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +511
    I have the FX66 and its the same mate.

    have to go through the Menu each time!

    Dal
     
  3. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Damn!! Pretty smart on Sony guys!!

    Thanks Dal.
     
  4. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +511
    Enjoy the TV fella, that was the only thing i could fault.

    The way i got round it was to connect my stereo to my Sky Box. We only use Sky for watching TV programs as the reception is rubbish otherwise.

    May not be justified, but if you dont have Sky connected to your Sony Tv you could always connect a Freeview box(with connects to for your amp) to your TV and then connect your Stereo to that. You can pick up a freeview box for about 30 quid these days. providing your in a Freeview area could be worth it.

    Dal :thumbsup:
     
  5. dynamic turtle

    dynamic turtle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +17
    Enjoy the TV fella, that was the only thing i could fault.

    Agreed. It's the only flaw in an otherwise perfect product.

    Personally, I turn the volume down to minimum, rather than go through the hassle of muting. The volume levels are fixed when turning the tv on/off, so this gets round the problem (unless of course, your 3805 is being fed by the FX68 analog outs - which are only activated by switching the tv speakers off in the menu).

    DT
     
  6. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    If you do a search for this problem (also on FX66), you'll see many people discussing the same thing.

    The ONLY way to resolve this, is NOT to use the 'phono' sockets on the rear of the set for audio - but use one of the tv's scart sockets to feed audio to an amp. The output is constant from these.

    To save wasting a valuable scart for only this purpose, you can buy an adapter which plugs in the scart socket like this here at Maplins
     

Share This Page

Loading...