1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to make Panasonic S97 multiregion??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by holyeagle, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. holyeagle

    holyeagle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just as my topic, anyone knows how to crack the region code set on Panasonic S97? Is there an easy way?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Fluffy-Bunny

    Fluffy-Bunny
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't believe there is a way to do this, as far as I know no Panasonic / Sony DVD players have ever had user handset hacks.
    The only way to do it (again, as far as I know) is by use of a service remote.
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would think by now that the region coding bs would be a thing of the past as it is so easy to bypass
     
  4. holyeagle

    holyeagle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you mind shed some lights on how to bypass? Thanks!
     
  5. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    I believe I have read you have to hire a special remote control from somewhere that gives you one shot at reprogrammming it to multiregion. As to where that might be I couldn't say, but perhaps a Google might help?

    Regards

    Mark
     
  6. alefsin

    alefsin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  7. Fluffy-Bunny

    Fluffy-Bunny
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I read a forum member on here had access to one of these remotes?
     
  8. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,854
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +834
    To the best of my knowledge, these remotes are only good for one modification.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  9. alefsin

    alefsin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I confirm. They only work once. I didn't try it myself but was tempted to record the IR commands submitted by these remotes using a PDA. I'm not sure, but in priciple it should be possible.
     
  10. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +41
    Has anyone following this thread actually ordered one of these, especially the one from shoyle.f9.co.uk? That looks appealing to me, as they don't expect you to return it.
    I'm especially interested in hearing if the multiregion hack really works: I had an S97 for about a week and a half that I had ordered from a German internet vendor. It was advertised as multiregion, but didn't play two of the seven R1 DVD's I own, so I returned it (see thread here).
     

Share This Page

Loading...