how to get browser to think you are in usa ??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by acemelhaz, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. acemelhaz

    acemelhaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi im looking at scifi website trying to watch an episode of heroes i have missed but says im not from usa how can i get around this this on apple mac or xp thanks
     
  2. lagertop

    lagertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Vienna
    Ratings:
    +4
    You'll have to go through a proxy server that is located in the US. Have a search for "proxy server list" and then change your connection settings in whatever internet browser you are using.

    regards
    Mark
     
  3. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    I use 1 of the USA-based server options for remote logging into our corporate VPN to do that.
    I found the reverse whilst I was working in the USA for the 1st fortnight of April ; I couldn't get what I wanted from the bbc.co.uk website :(

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  4. acemelhaz

    acemelhaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi i put a proxy server in and still said it can you give me a good site to go to to get list thanks
     
  5. lagertop

    lagertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Vienna
    Ratings:
    +4
    If the site still said it I'm inclined to think you didnt configure you browser correctly or you didnt choose the correct proxy server.

    I just tried 206.117.37.4:3128 which is a proxy in the US. If you go to http://www.lagado.com/proxy-test after configuring your browser it should show the remote host as been:

    Remote Host planetlab2.ucsd.edu IP Address 132.239.17.225

    Is this only needed for registration at the site? If you have to go through the proxy to also download the show it going to be pretty slow (most proxies dont have a great deal of bandwidth).

    Regards
    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...