How to get around.....

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Sparky83, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. Sparky83

    Sparky83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +147
    ... the fact that I don't have room for my DVD drive!

    Basically I have an SSD drive that is sitting where my DVD drive should go. I'm also using the cables for it to connect my SSD. But I need to install windows on my SSD but I need the drive connected to do so.
    It's a HP microserver, and I know that others have various HDD's, and SSD's in the top compartment but I only have 2 cable, the power and the red Ribbentrop type cable.
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    Presumably the microserver has at least two SATA ports if it's got space for a DVD drive so what's the objection to just buying a second SATA cable (assuming you don't have any other desktops around to pinch one out of)?

    If that's not an option for whatever reason, then have you looked at creating a custom Windows 8 installer with the driver included? Customize Your Windows 8 Installation Disc and Slipstream Updates With WinReducer

    Don't worry about the SSD not being in a bay, it's not got any moving parts so as long as the cables are connected it doesn't matter how it's positioned.
     
  3. Sparky83

    Sparky83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +147
    I have bays for the HDD's that are hot swappable, there is no cables from the board to the drives. There is only one that has my SSD drive in it.

    I didn't know you could do this, although i'm i want to install win 7 as i wasn't happy with windows 8.
     
  4. R-CAD

    R-CAD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ingatesone
    Ratings:
    +52
    Install from USB, rather than DVD.

    Easiest way is to create a bootable USB from the Instal DVD is to use the Windows7-USB-DVD-tool

    Microsoft Store

    You'll need a Windows (XP SP2 or "higher") PC to create the the Bootable USB, and be careful if your creating a 64Bit Install USB on a 32 Bit machine.

    (How did you get Windows 8 on it, and what were you not happy about? I've just stuck 8.1 on my N54L)
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2014
  5. Morfinel

    Morfinel
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    the one above or external DVD
     
  6. movaado

    movaado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Sittingbourne, Kent
    Ratings:
    +220
    I have a 2.5" SATA drive above my DVDROM in my HP Microserver - there is a fair bit of spare room in there.

    I got a SATA to eSATA cable and plugged that into the external eSATA port, routed it though one of the PCIe slots in the rear, onto the DVD's SATA connector.
     

Share This Page

Loading...