Question How to get 2160p with sky Q via my Yamaha RX-3040

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tristan45, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    At the moment I've got skyQ going into the amp and the output going into input 1 on my 65"LG B6
    Do I have to update to a Yamaha 3050?
     
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,633
    The RXA3040 doesn't support 4K @ 50Hz which is what is required if wanting to access 4K UHD content via the SKY Q box. You'd need a receiver with at least HDMI version 2 and preferably one with version 2.0a or version 2.0 that has been updated to allow for HDR and includes HDCP 2.2 compliance. The RXA3050 would qualify as far as the latter is concerned.

    EDIT

    After further investigation, the RXA3040 does apparently support 4K @ 50Hz but not HDCP 2.2. HDCP 2.2 support would be required if wanting passthrough HDCP content broadcast by SKY via their SKY Q service..

    RX-A3040 - AV Receivers/Amplifiers - Yamaha - UK and Ireland
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  3. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    How much roughly would my 3040 be worth if I was to sell
     
  4. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,633
    Maybe £800 is a reasonable amount to ask given that most people will be now looking to buy receivers that have the abilities you yourself are after. The fact the receiver hasn't the HDCP 2.2 compliance most will be wanting doesn't help. The issue is that you need someone not wanting UHD compliance to want the receiver and most people spending this kind of money have already or are thinking of investing in UHD.

    You can buy a Yamaha refurbished RXA3040 for just under £1K from Richer Sounds so your selling price would theoretically have to be below this. There are some eBay listings as low as £700 for the RXA3040.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  5. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    I've put the skyQ box direct to the TV and optical to the amp what do I press to activate the sound on optical
     
  6. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,633
    It depends upon which optical input you've used? Press whichever source correspionds with the input you've connected the optical connection to.
     
  7. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    I put the cable into optical 3, so what do I select please?
     
  8. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,633
    I'd maybe suggest you connect it to the optical TV AUDIO 1 audio input on the receiver seeing as this is the default input associated with the AUDIO 1 button on the remote. The other optical inputs are assigned to video sources. OPTICAL 3 would be associated with the AV3 button along with any video connections connected to the associated video inputs. The optical 1 input has no associated video inputs and is purely set aside for audio.
     
  9. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    Which optical input is that?
    Is it the one between 4 and 5
     
  10. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,633
    It is labelled AUDIO 1 TV. It has no associated video inputs and only has analogue left and right RCA connections or an optical input associated with it.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Max108

    Max108
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +137
    Hi Tristan,
    Could you tell me whether you think the workaround described here is satisfactory, or if you've decided that a new AV-R would be a better solution in the long run?
     
  12. Dunners

    Dunners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Close By
    Ratings:
    +59
    Why not look for an HDCP down-grade type widget?
    HDCP11AB

    Probably better than moving to a new amp.
     
  13. barrywi

    barrywi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Grange over Sands
    Ratings:
    +228
    I cannot get 4K through to my LG E6 either using my Arcam 850 or direct, so do not rush to buy a new amp. Does the 4K picture get to your tv using a direct cable from the Q box?
     
  14. Tristan45

    Tristan45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +237
    I bought a Yamaha 3050 in the end
     
  15. superselky

    superselky
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6
    hi just got skq installed but whats the best way to connect it to my old panny 1000w dvd surround sound which was connected to the old skyhd box by scart, my tv is the sammy hu8500
     
  16. Geofio

    Geofio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +25
    simple solution i found for 4k hdr material is if your device has 2 hdmi out one for the audio to the 3040 and the video to your tv or projector that is how i get around hdcp 2.2 and works perfectly. I purchased a refurbished 3040 from Yamaha and it was mint condition for a very reasonable price, the only thing i thought about was this 2.2 problem as i explained above i use a 4k projector which has 2 inputs , so i use one player samsung m9500 for blue ray and 4k streaming, one hdmi straight to projector and audio is separate to the yamaha, and that way i have full 4k hdr with picture and sound with a top notch receiver , just love the 3040.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice