How to file your company as Dormant?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by nowthatswhatica, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. nowthatswhatica

    nowthatswhatica
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Guys,

    I have a few couple of companies registered with companies house. None of them are trading or taking any monies. Is anyone able to advise how I can file the company as dormant?

    Thanks
     
  2. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,322
  3. nowthatswhatica

    nowthatswhatica
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi mate

    No probs with that but I'm assuming I need to print off and sign/post form :CT41G?
     
  4. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,322
    CT41G should come from HMRC & IIRC, only needs action when the company starts trading. But I've been out of the loop for a while so probably best to seek advice direct from Companies House. I do know that they take no prisoners when it comes to fines if you get it wrong & are late with something though.
     
  5. nowthatswhatica

    nowthatswhatica
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks mate! :)
     
  6. Ultima

    Ultima
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    9,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    If the companies have never traded you need to complete and file form AA02 Dormant Company Account (DCA) with Companies House. Easiest way is to register with Companies House and file it online.
     
  7. nowthatswhatica

    nowthatswhatica
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks mate

    I was on the phone to HM revenue, I've sent them a letter stating my business is dormant. Over the phone they advised it takes 15 days to update but once it's confirmed on their side I'll file dormant accounts as per your message.

    Thanks again :)
     
  8. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,322
    Heed Ultima's advice over anything I posted. :smashin:
     
  9. nowthatswhatica

    nowthatswhatica
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi mate I filled that form out as a 'just incase' procedure.

    I wrote a letter so I'll update here with what they say. The reason why I was asking my initial question is cooperation tax, I received a letter notifying me that I need to register etc. As the company hasn't done anything I gave HM revenue a call, they advised me to send a letter stating its dormant.
     
  10. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    66,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +46,702
    corporation?
     

Share This Page

Loading...