How to diagnose fault?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by mushtafa, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. mushtafa

    mushtafa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi, I have a problem with my PC and need help, I'm not sure how to diagnose it.

    Basically I get a lot of reboots, no blue screens, no warnings, no error messages. Sometimes it'll do it as soon as I start up and reboot 2 or 3 times before it settles and I can use it.
    Over times it'll boot up fine, than all of a sudden without warning it'll reboot.
    I'm going to guess it's a hardware fault, but I have no spare parts to swap over and test etc

    How do I start to diagnose this problem?

    I'll get the hardware specs up in the morning and I'm running windows 7 ultimate 64bit.
     
  2. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    Does sound a bit like loose connection, failing psu, memory, hardware

    Suggest you try the following forum which I've found very helpful in the past, especially with regard to how to consult event logs on your computer which might be storing what actually happens when the system shuts down

    Windows 7 Help Forums
     
  3. whatsupdoc

    whatsupdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +361
    Yes, my guess would be regarding loose connection, starting with the RAM.

    Give the RAM sticks a gentle tap on the top edge of the board with the insulated end of a screwdriverand see if that improves or cures the situation.
    .
     
  4. maddogb

    maddogb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +196
    1st step, split the system in half, software and hardware, get hold of a linux distro that will run off usb stick or cd/dvd.
    Use it for a few days or till the fault appears.
    post the hardware spec. someone may be running a distro that works with your combo
     
  5. mushtafa

    mushtafa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +28
    Right, hardware spec:

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
    Mainboard: MSI MS-7250
    RAM: 4gb DDR2
    GPU: ATI Radeon X1900

    As you can see it's an old system now, been running this hardware for the last 2 years without fault. I did overclock the GPU using the ATI Catalyst software, the software did it all itself, but the system was unstable trying to play COD4, so I've put that back to defaults.
     

Share This Page

Loading...