How to connect two sources for one set of B&W CM9 speakers

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by ndaulah, Nov 26, 2010.

1. ndaulah

ndaulah
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am completely new with setting up music system.

Is there any way to connect the same set of speakers to two different sources?

I would like to have the speakers connected to my AV receiver for the home theater system, and also to a pre-amp for my stereo system.

I am guessing it wouldn't be a good idea to have them hooked directly to the speaker at the same time.

Is there any way to choose which source will used for the speaker?

I guess the obvious way to do it would be to change the unplug and plug the wires at the back when switching between systems. But I would really appreciate any suggestions to automate the process.

2. Mark.Yudkin

Mark.Yudkin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,542
    Connecting both simultaneously is a recipe for catastrophic failure of all components.

Automatic switch: Sonance source switch. Also Speakercraft & Russound make these.

Mechanical switch: Beresford router.

It's a cost vs convenience question: the Beresford is cheaper, but you have to physically press the button each time.

3. ndaulah

ndaulah
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Mark,

I was also considering a source selector, but the guy at the hifi store said that it would compromise the music quality. (Funny that he didn't mention that connecting two sources to the same speaker isn't a good idea)

Would you know which of the switches you have mentioned would be better at preserving the sound quality.
    Also are both of these compatible with high current amplifiers?

4. Mark.Yudkin

Mark.Yudkin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,542