1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to connect to panny?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by UselessPratt, Apr 30, 2003.

1. UselessPratt

UselessPratt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, now I am more confused. :confused: Sorry guys, I am new to this, so it is taking time.....ha ha!
    The Panny has a component, s-video and composite.
    If I connect RGB to the component, then I need to also connect the composite to provide a sync. But the problem with this is that it disables the s-video.
    That is not so bad, provided I don't need another input to the plasma. But when I get my dvd with component output, I will naturally want to use the component input on the plasma. The sky box can sod off to the s-video ( assuming i buy the box to convert) . But I guess that normally the component to component is five wire not six?? In other words it frees up the composite to allow the s-video to work??
    How does everyone else do this? I mean without buying the tuner?

2. JamesTapp

JamesTapp
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Useless,

Assuming that you have the following devices to connect:

Sky
    Video
    DVD with Component Output

Then the simplest way to set it up is:

Sky Scart -> JS RGB2VGA Convertor -> Plasma PC Input
    Sky Video Scart -> Video Scart In
    Video Out -> Plasma Composite In
    DVD Component Out -> Plasma Component In.

There are other ways, but this will give you the best picture available for each source.

Kind Regards,

James

[EDIT: Don't confuse Scart RGB with Component (YUV), although they can use the same connections on the Panny, they are different! RGB+Composite uses 4 RCA (Phono) connections, YUV uses 3 RCA (Phono) Connections)]

3. UselessPratt

UselessPratt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0