1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to connect Sky to projector?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by matblack, Jun 3, 2005.

  1. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Here is my situation

    I have a projector at one end of the room with cables run from the front of the room via the ceiling, this means I am limited to the following cables

    VGA
    S-video
    Component

    I am considering getting sky for the room (standard Sky not +) I ran a Sat grade cable when I built the room so I can run the signal down there.

    The Sky box will sit with the following sources

    Marantz SR5400
    PC
    Tosh DVD

    I understand that the only output from most Sky boxes is SCART and in my wisdom I did not run SCART to the projector, nor can I, ceiling is now plastered.

    How should I get the SCART Sky signal to the projector to give the best picture, I'd ideally like to use the Marantz's switching which will handle component SCART or composite (bleugh)?

    Thanks inn advance

    MB
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    You can get a scart -> VGA or scart -> component converter from JS Technologies: http://www.js-technology.com/ that would do the job.

    HTH

    John
     
  3. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    RGB out of the Sky box, through a JS Technology RGB to component converter and into the Marantz.
     
  4. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +95
    Probably the best way to do it would be to get an RGB->Component convertor and then I assume you will be able to put the component through your AVR
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    What they said :)
     
  6. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    £145!

    Flipping heck :suicide:

    My wife will hit the roof

    So I presume that all the Marantz will do is switch between the sources and not do any conversion

    I have the S-video in the roof (put in just in case) how much difference will converting to component make? £145 worth?

    MB
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You could think about upgrading to Sky+ which has s-video output ?
     
  8. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Won't a SCART > S-video converter do the job?

    [​IMG]

    MB
     
  9. Robert_Webb

    Robert_Webb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The SCART converter you pictured might work, although I have one like that and the output from S-Video is awful, distorted and in black and white.

    The RGB to component would work fine, but many newer Sky boxes have an S-Video output, it is not just limited to Sky+ boxes. Mine is a Grundig and has one, so if you happen to get one with an S-Video output you could run it straight into the projector.
     

Share This Page

Loading...