How To Connect Home Cinema To TV.

Krazydiamond

Standard Member
Hi,

Im a newbie so be gentle.

I have just purchased a new TV - 37LG5000 - and want to connect a 3.1 home cinema system that I have to it so it will play the TV through it instead of the TV speakers. I can get it to work with my DVD player/ Wii by using a multi scart hub thingy which has RCA connectors on it. I was able to get the speakers to work with my old TV cos I connected my freeview box through the scart hub as well but the new TV has built in freeview and I dont really want to have to use the freeview box with the new TV.

The speakers connect with RCA (red/white) cable from the amp and the connections on the TV are:

HDMI x3
Audio In (RGB DVI)
Optical digital audio out
Component in (5 circle connections, 3 video and 2 audio)
Scart x2
AV in (red/white audio and yellow video)

Ive tried connecting the RCAs to all the audio sockets on the TV with no luck. Ive tried watching the TV through the DVD player but still get the DVD sound coming through instead of the TV programme.

So my question is can I connect this system to this TV via RCA cables or some sort of adapter or convertor, or do I need to buy a new cinema system with different connections and if so what connections should I be using to get it to work with the TV (HDMI, Optical, something other???)

Any help is much appreciated.

Mr Incredible

Distinguished Member
Hi, welcome to the forums.

Most Scart connections will carry audio in both directions. I'd get a Scart to Phono lead adapter like these, and connect the TV (say using the AV2 if you have the DVD/Sat on AV1) via Scart to the RCA audio in on your sound system. You just need to use the audio RCA plugs and ignore the composite video output plug.

Last edited:

Krazydiamond

Standard Member