1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to connect guitar to AV Receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Nic H, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. Nic H

    Nic H
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, does anyone know if its possible and tell me what I need to connect an electro-acoustic guitar to my AV receiver.
    Thanks
     
  2. mr_seanstanley

    mr_seanstanley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi there,
    I've done this and have to say it does work quite well. I used an effects processor (digitech rp100.) with a headphone out to connect up. This set me back about $70, does effects too, some very naff and some ok! Im sure there will be a cheaper alternative out there that will come with a headphone/line out. Alternatively a guitar amp with a line out. A Marshall mini-amp has a headphone out, looks cool and will run off batteries. You can get them new from about $40.
    Hope this helps.
     
  3. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    You need to be careful when doing this - using a processor such as that described by mr_seanstanley is essential (there are other things such as the Line6 Pod or Behringer equivalent available). Guitar outputs and amps are usually designed to run way into distortion whilst hifi equipment certainly isn't. :)
     
  4. Nic H

    Nic H
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the info guys. Had a look at the Line6 Pod. Might be going for that one. It is a bit pricey though.
     
  5. carl1234

    carl1234
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    i used an electric guitar by using a phono to headphone jack plug, I just pluged heaphone jack into guitar and phono connecters to a spare input. used dolby pro logic 2 music mode with it too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...