1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to change geometry on sony 32dx100?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by dac, Sep 4, 2002.

1. dac

dac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    hi guys,

i've tried searching for this on the forums ... but no luck.

normal menu system has picture rotation, but this dosen't help.

where are the geometry settings?

i've tried looking in the service menu too ... but couldn't find anything!

step by step instructions will be much appreciated. (i'm a complete novice!)

i have a slight dip on the left hand side of the tv. rather annoying watching from 2.5 metres away. :mad:

finally ... why does the contrast settings resets itself (back to max!) after i've modified it and then switched the tv on to standby. :confused: this is annoying too! :mad:

cheers,
    dac

2. Squirrel God

Squirrel God

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.kv32tweak.freeuk.com/

Be careful!

If you have a horizontal dip, you won't be able to correct this in the service menu. Horizontal geometry can only be corrected by opening up the set.

You'll never get the geometry perfect on a CRT TV anyway so if it's not too bad, I'd leave it be. ;)

3. dac

dac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    squirrel,

does this mean that i will need to call allders to get a sony engineer to open up the set and adjust the horizontal geometry?
    (is it just removing the case and tweaking a few bits and bobs? or does it require lifting the tv of the stand and other heavy duty stuff ... don't want any damage to occur.)

currently left side has a bigger top black bar than the right side.
    and i don't think i can live with it like this ... minor but bloody irritating.

i'll be happy if it's near perfect geometry :)