1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How stupid is this?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by samsonite, Dec 3, 2002.

1. samsonite

samsonite
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, this is my first post and I am new to this home cinema malarkey.
    I have read the posts on both speakers and amps for the last few months, while waiting for the Marantz.

I am planning to get a Marantz SR7300 or SR6300 and suitable speakers. The room layout is far from ideal and the television is in a corner.

I understand that front, centre and rears should be similar. Therefore, I am planning to user the same floor-standers for front and rears, which would allow me to use “Direct mode” (on the Marantz). The centre will be placed below the television (Panasonic TX32 PK2) in the place of the existing centre supplied with the television; may have to remove the glass door. The space is a maximum of 44 cm wide. I do not want the centre on top of the television, which will upset SWMBO and be the end of my home cinema plans.

The only half decent speakers that appear to fit are the Tannoy mX-M series because:-
    The centre is less than 44 cm long.
    The mX3-M floor stander are magnetically shielded and front ported, so can be placed next to the television and near the wall.

Does anybody have any alternative speaker suggestions, which meet the criteria?
    I am willing to pay more than the Tannoys for suitable speakers, but I am not an audiophile, and the room isn't perfect.
    Is the SR7300 (or 6300) too good for the speakers?

A sub will be added later, if needed.

2. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    How about a regular Tannoy MX2 bookshelf speaker used as a centre? Should fit and have similar tonal qualities to the MX3's.

3. samsonite

samsonite
    Standard Member

Products Owned: