How much to spend on Component cable for new HD box to 32" LCD?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by rolfee, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. rolfee

    rolfee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Bit of advice please, just plummeted for HD box from sky due this Monday. I have a Panasonic TX-32LXD500 and as my PC already utilises the HDMI connection into the tv (it is my media hub DVD's, HD/SD material), I will be using the component for HD box.

    What do you feel would be a reasonable amount to spend on the cable to get the best quality? Has anyone got similar set up experiences or can advise if i should rethink inbound connections?

    Thanks all...
     
  2. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    £30?

    Has that LCD got VGA in? I'd consider that as an alternative for the PC
     
  3. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    Have to agree with Choddo, try VGA, if set up right it should look just as good as HDMI.
     
  4. rolfee

    rolfee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Thanks that is roughly what i was thinking for cost.

    LCD has a VGA in so this is an option. However i thought VGA is analogue hence you loose some quality on switching. However i guess this is debatable if you would notice it on a 32".

    Do you think the HDMI Vs compenent on HD box to LCD will be noticable,

    I guess I may be doing some testing :)
     
  5. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Yeah I think it's very dependent on the components in the TV. VGA is a very high quality analogue signal so I'd say, in theory VGA and HDMI is a better all round option than component and DVI, but only you can really decide. Just make sure the component cable isn't in a non-resealable pack ;)
     
  6. rolfee

    rolfee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Choddo,
    good point, a trip to Seven Oaks will be made at weekend!!

    I'll let you know my findings early next week.

    cheers for the help.
     
  7. 499520

    499520
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19
  8. rolfee

    rolfee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    could not get a comparable pic with VGA no matter how much tweaking i did.

    So to fix i just accelerated my amp replacement and got a Sony strda1200 with the 2 hdmi's inputs (credit card is battered now, quiet few months i think).
    Now impressed with pic and some impressive tweaking ability since my dear old Yamaha DSP-A5.
     
  9. Martin J.

    Martin J.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +175

Share This Page

Loading...