1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much to haggle for Arcam amp + Quads + themescene projector

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by swynjones, Jun 10, 2005.

Tags:
  1. swynjones

swynjones
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone.

As a complete newbie in the world of Hifi/home cinema I need some major advice on haggling-how much to haggle and what approximately you might expect a dealer to be able to do if spending a lot of money on multiple items.

I'm thinking of purchasing

Arcam AVR250
    Themescene H30A
    Quad L series AV speaker package

from seveoaks this comes to a totol of £3890 excluding cables. with Cables will be over £4000.

What I'd like to know is how much is it reasonable to haggle? Because £3890 is too expensive for me. But people talk about a dealer doing them great deals if buying >1 item together. I've previously seen Creative Audio in Shresbury offer 25% discounts when buying speaker/AMP packages.

So would it be reasonable to haggle for 25% off the Arcam/Quad/Themescene package if bought at the same time from the same dealer. Or am I going to be wasting my time and put people's backs up!

Otherwise I'll wait a while for either prices to drop or will buy a cheaper speaker package instead.

2. johndon

johndon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +88
    How about trying to get the cables thrown in free?

I'm not sure you'll get much of a discount on the Arcam as most places on the web that I've seen seem to be doing it for £999.99 which, IIRC is the retail price.

John

3. crocandy

crocandy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +47
    Best advice i can give is price the whole system up with cables etc. Then decide how you are going to pay for it and how much you really want to pay.