1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much cable can I have between the broadband wall socket and the router?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Iain Shields, May 14, 2003.

1. Iain Shields

Iain Shields

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi folks, I'm a bit new to this so please be gentle!!!...

I'm thinking of going with ADSL broadband for my pc and xbox (no cable in my area), my problem is that the broadband wall socket will be downstairs and at the moment the pc and xbox are in a room upstairs therefore I need (I think) to run a cable from the wall socket up the stairs and into the room with the router feeding the pc and xbox (am I correct so far?)

...If yes, then how much cable can I use (and what type) before I start to get data drop-outs?... or is this not a problem?

One other thing, if you all don't mind :blush:

I'm also thinking of ugrading my pc, if I go for 1 of the nforce2 motherboards am I right in thinking that I can get online by just connecting a lead from the router to the 10/100 socket on the board or do I need some sort of modem aswell?

That's my lot...

Thanks in advance for the replies folks.

Regards,
    Iain.

2. graham.myers

graham.myers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +932
    I've got a 10 meter cable between my dsl modem and the router. I had a similar situation to you, but I went the wi-fi route.

The router is in the same (but opposite end of the room high on a dvd shelp). The PC is upstairs with a pci wi-fi card. I have a laptop with a pcmcia wi-fi card so it can roam in any room. The xbox is in the same room as the router so its plugged into the back of it with a cable. All my kit is linksys and came to under £200 for all three pices of kit.

You can get a wi-fi connection for the xbox - about £75 for the linksys model

3. paiger

paiger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: