1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how mislead was i?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by gmarl, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry for the long first whinging post but

    saw the rs offer a week ago and did a quick search on the pany screen (not here i might add) and it checked out so i went for a look in the local rs


    i asked the guy if i really needed the tuner etc

    current setup
    wega 32" sky + freeview pvr (skys retiring) and 120gig modded xbox
    kenwood nv701 ss system used as simply surround sound +with a laptop plugged for music.

    oh yes he said you have to have the tuner or buy add in boards and have loads of wires out the back of the screen!!! he insisted the tuner was much better quality than the boards you buy!!


    so i did and took it all home where it has sat unopened for a week due to work committments.

    anyhow due to staring at loads of boxes in the corner of the room i thought id check out the other bits that come with it (as i was gonna sell the dvd player and either either the pany ss or my kenwood 701)
    and ended up here,
    searched and read ALLLL the threads on this subject last night and it appears to me that not only have a made the wrong decision i was mislead into making it.

    i have sky and freeview pvr so it seems i dont NEED the tuner at all.
    also the tuner is not the dbs he made it out to be.

    at no point did he tell me i could buy a convertor from scart to vga thus removing the need for plug in boards,perhaps he didnt know)
    had he told me that it wouldnt have taken einstien to work out i would then need a multi adapter of sorts to plug in multiple scarts into the convertor.

    Anyway thankfully i found this forum and some valued views and im now 99% sure i should just cart all the boxes back down there and ask for a refund and just the keep the screen and buy a convertor and multi scart input adaptor elsewhere.

    was hoping to get it all out and set up tomorrow as well :(


    the only thing i think i was correctly informed about was whether i had considerated hdtv which i hadnt!


    cheers for listening
    Glen
     
  2. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +83
    is it an anlogue or digital tuner,

    Also does your freeeview allow for two signals like sky+, it may be worth keeping the tuner if not
     
  3. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    tuner is the panasonic tu pt600b that people dont seem to rate on this forum and the freeview is the old twin pace so yes 2 signals.

    cheers
    Glen
     
  4. jw250

    jw250
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    From selling these Panasonic Tuners they made it easier to install for someone who wasn't into AV at all and just wanted to watch a bit of TV and the odd DVD so to avoid trying to explain to a client about converters and RGB - VGA conversion (which can cost £150 and require mains by the way) it was simpler for the client (and me) to sell the Tuner. It sounds like you are into AV and picture quality etc. so I would seriously consider ditching the tuner. For a start, in my memory, the tuner had only 1xRGB scart and I'm not sure whether there was a component input for a progressive scan DVD. The quality through scart RGB was utterly awful compared to if you connected directly to a scart board or VGA or component on the screen. The tuner really softened the picture and much of the detail and sharpness disappeared - dramatically! So, my advice is, ditch the tuner completely and sort out an intelligent switching system so that you can have RGB or component wherever you can. Rather than buying RGB-VGA converters, your panasonic should have 3x slots for boards at the rear, and you can buy scart boards for the more recent series. Check that the slots themselves can accept RGB as not all do I believe.

    If I were you though, calculate the cost of making all this work, then see if you can afford a Pioneer PDP435FDE or XDE (analogue tuner or Freeview). The Pioneer is HD ready, has a good tuner but will cost you more. Its worth it though. Get a DVD player that has component or HDMI out thus releasing your RGB scarts on your tuner for Sky or Freeview and XBox. It will undoubtedly cost more, but you'll be much happier!

    I talk like money grows on trees, sorry. I couldn't afford one right now, but I install these things all the time. Hope this helps.
     
  5. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you use analogue teletext for footy results or booking holidays or have a partner who can't live without teletext the tuner is an option if not get rid for better picture quality.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    for £1800 ish you can have a 42" PWD7 (silver or charcaol) a mount (wall or desk) an AV amp with 3 scart inputs for video switching, a brand new set of speakers and either a scart board or dual slot component and video board and a JS RGB>VGA box!!!! so perhaps consider taking the whole back as you were mis sold?
     
  7. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    cheers for the replies, the pioneer was a little too much for me to swallow as thats what he pointed out regards hdtv, so fair play to him on that one.


    the panny does indeed have board slots(2) and i believe they can take scart boards but again i thought i read somewhere these wern't great either???

    quality is pretty important as im a self professed film buff, running a hotel has stopped that a little over the last 3 years but we have just sold due to baby on way so thought hmmm back to some good old fashoined film watching on a nice new plasma :D :thumbsup:

    a sneak in the box tells me the tuner has (and now the wifes seen the unit and thinks its pretty....Guuuuureat)

    21 pin av1 rgb/video
    21 pin av2 video/s-video
    21 pin av4 rgb/video/s-video


    Teletext i can live without and the setup listed is little more than i paid anyway(around 1600) although im plumped for 37 as i dont know how big my new lounge is gonna be yet

    glen
     
  8. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isnt AV4 RGB or Composite via the scart or Component via the phono /RCA jacks? thats why you have AV4C for component input from say a DVD player.
    Some people like the better remote that comes with the tuner and the fact that, that remote can work a pana VCR and pana DVD aswell as i've already said Teletext.oh and AV3 on the front is usefull for camcorders and such.

    Personaly i would go the picture quality route and get rid of the tuner but for some it's what they want.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    unfortunately the tuner nobbels several things, PQ as well as functionality!!!
     
  10. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    your correct the is indeed av4 componant, didnt really take any notice of the phonos as i only glanced through th wrapping but im looking at the manual now and its showing phonos av4 componant with recomendation of sky reciever in here but both my sky and freeview(svhs here too) are scart only :mad:

    its all very confusing
     
  11. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +140
    Does anyone know what else the tuner disables. i know it stops picture in picture. Has anyone posted a list before.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    MAW has posted several times what it disables, it stop you using wobble function adjusting the overscan all sorts coombes i thought your tunerbox was heading to the bin (ebay) anyway?
     
  13. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +140
    it is as soon as i get the money to get the boards first. just spent a lot repairing car. i did look for list but couldnt seem to find anything, just about how bad picture is.
    i might just buy them on credit card at weekend. does anyone other than richer sounds do them on the high street
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    some panny dealers may have them but you will save a load online AV-sales sell boards and converters and are pretty competitive!
     
  15. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok 1 more question, its steering off topic but what would stop me using synmaster scart to vga cable and plugging that into a switching scart multi box with all my other bits into that?

    this would appear to do the same job but cheaper, or is quality lost in the conversion due to being in the lead oppose to a box(js)


    cheers
    Glen
     
  16. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Also slightly off topic but still about RS, went in a few days ago for a demo. Salesman tells me the Panasonic TH37PW7 was £999.95 ONLY if purchased with the 3 yr extended panel warranty, is this correct as their website just gives it as an option.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Glen the JS box is they very best when it come to sync stripping, everything else is a cheap copy and often not up to the JOB but its your money!!!!
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    http://ws4.richersounds.com/showproduct.php?cda=showproduct&pid=PANA-TH37PW7
    Print this out take it in if they wont sell it to you for £999.95 ask for salesmans name and managers name and phone their head office at explain your treatment!!!!!
    0870 900 1000
     
  19. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the prompt reply hornydragon :thumbsup: will do just that, intend to buy tomorrow. :clap:
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you know for £300 you can have 5 more inches, a scart or dual slot input board (component & S-video/composite) as well as wall mount or desk stand, DELIVERD!!!!!

     
  21. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Great offer but the missus is very firm on the size :clap: 37" or nothing :( so naturally I've gone for the 37" :D
     
  22. Ben_S

    Ben_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ladies have been mislead about size for years, you might get it past her!
     
  23. gmarl

    gmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    cheers HD :thumbsup: i thought that may be the case, i half tempted to return the lot to them and get a full refund and take up the "av offer" as with a stand and board its a superb price, but i think ill just sell the tuner and dvd player as planned.

    so i need
    1 js convertor
    1 extended vga vga lead
    a splitter...........will any do, or is there a recomended one to go for?

    is that it???

    Id like to help with your question fossil but the 3yr panel protection was something i wanted.

    glen
     
  24. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +136
    Would it not be easier just to purchase the 37PE50 as its got all the connections you need except PC/HDMI as standard as well having the latest g8 panel which should result in better PQ without the need for specialist boxes etc. Add all the extras up and the price difference is not a lot.
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Smaller size..... and the veira chassis is far less flexible than a panel also the overall look is very different!
     
  26. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well I popped in to RS today and got my Panny PW7 for £999.95 no problem, there was a quick whisper between the 2 salesmen half way through the paperwork though and they asked me where I had seen their ad .............. so I pulled out the printout hornydragon suggested I take with me (with a flourish I might add lol) and they said "thats fine sir". No mention of the 3yr extended warranty.

    Cheers hd :clap:
     
  27. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +136
    True but he originally bought a 37" so surely this was okay size wise. The biggest flaw on pe50 is the lack of PC input or HDMI/DVI but it does a good job with scart and component. As far as I know the PW7 is not anywhere as good via scart as new pe50/500 range and requires the JS converter which adds to the cost.
     
  28. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, this may be a silly question, got my PW7 today, unpacked and checked contents (all ok). What are the Ferrite cores for??? it tells me where to put em but not what they do.
     
  29. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    they are meant to stop RF interference
     
  30. Fossil

    Fossil
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    ahhhhhhhh thanks mep :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...