How many of you shoot in RAW?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by imichael, Mar 8, 2005.

1. imichael

imichael
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I'm new to this part of the forums, and it is good to find a photography forum that isn't focussed ( :eek: bugger a pun on the first 20 words) on 'my camera's better than yours' like dpreview.

I currently have two cameras, a Fuji F810 and a Sigma SD9. I was addicted to the Sigma as, despite the SD9's limitations, it was a huge jump in performance and flexibility compared to my old Fuji 6800Z. Enough waffle, with the Sigma everything is in RAW so white balance, exposure etc can be adjusted to rescue shots or crop and use a specific section (getting rid of blown highlights and bring up dark areas).

With the the F810 I've left it on wife friendly jpeg mode and find I take more pictures, get better candids, but lose the editing that RAW gives - but get much better use of memory so can rattle off shots with bracketing if need be.

Does anyone here use RAW on Canon/Fuji etc DSLRs', is RAW ever used on compacts, or is the Ken Rockwell priniciple of blast away in jpeg and rely on proper set up the way forward?

cheers

Ian

2. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a 20D and i have yet to really use RAW that much, mainly because buying it dinted my savings and i've still got the 128mb card from my canon S1. Once i get a couple of decent cards (very soon) i'm get to grips with it

Only compact i know off hand that uses raw is the canon s60/70

3. imichael

imichael
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ouch - 128Mb on a 20D must be frustrating? Or does it help you think more about when and what to shoot?

4. imichael

imichael
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0