1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many Hours Has yours.....

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nealgs, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With all the talk regarding life-span of Plasma panels, it got me thinking as to how many hours ours had been on for in the time we'd had it.

    I think manufactures quote around 40000+ hrs before they reached 50% brightness levels, so at around 8hrs/day this gives around 10yrs or so of life.


    Our Plasma Life counter
    On for 4060 Hours since June 2003


    would be interesting to see what everyone elses Life Counter is saying and see what average daily usage is


    Post your info in here, then edit it on a weekly/monthly basis maybe


    regards
    Gary


    Post amended to reflect manufacturers quoted life span (from 30k+ hours to 40k+) :)
     
  2. stolt

    stolt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    rayleigh, essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Had my fujitsu for appx 2 yrs now and it's on nearly everyday from 09.00hrs til about 11pm, quite worrying looking at that written down in words.... so in the next year or so I'll would expect some of difference in the brightness, glad I've got a Panny pw6 on it's way then!!
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I'm pretty sure that this generation of Fuji's and Panny's mention 50,000 hour lifetimes now!!!!!
     
  4. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Panny 6 brochure claims 60,000 hours!! :eek: :eek:

    P.S. My PWD6 has -72 hours...:D :D
     
  5. deman77

    deman77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    must be very ignorant of me but how do you check it in D6?
     
  6. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  7. mugwump

    mugwump
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    I install plasmas in control centres and have used fujitsu's, panasonic,sony and NEC since the first days they were manufactured.

    We have about 20 running 24 hours a day 365 days a year. So I expect we hit the limits before many if you.

    Apart from the loss of brightness over time, and a certain amount of screen burn (we display static images for long periods of time which is about the worst thing you can do to a plasma) the major problem we have is blown PSU's which has typically affected the 1st generation fujitsus after about 4-5 years continuous use (about 40,000 hours).

    The repair is exspensive as fujitsu will not sell you the blown semiconductor, only the complete PSU board!

    No problems to date on the others but we dont really have more than 3 years on any of them yet. (oh except the sony we dropped and broke the screen, now in the skip)
     
  8. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    does anybody know how to check no of hors on for Pioneer 434/504??

    thanks
     
  9. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    number of hours!!
     
  10. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Panny 5 series ,14 months old with 4000 hours
     
  11. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @ stormjai - not sure if it's similar to the 433MXE, but on the remote for that you press the display button a couple of times to show the hours used/temp/ and a few other values.

    regards
    Gary
     
  12. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump for anyone interested

    Have updated our hour count
     
  13. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    How would i check my Hitachi pd3000?

    Adrenochrome.
     
  14. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    4626 hours now
     
  15. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +259
    Got pioneer 434 hde last check was 189+ hours about the same from the media box ! received plasma on 2nd feb !
     
  16. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Pioneer 434/504HDE Service Menu

    Put the unit on standby.Press the channel info button and wait 3-4 seconds. Then press left,up,left,right and then the orange button that puts the panel to standby. The panel should switch on displaying the service menu. Enjoy!

    {thanks to ggp159 for the info in another thread}
     
  17. SLIM

    SLIM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    No one now's:oops:
     
  18. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    A whole 779hrs and 6 minutes!

    Whats the MR counter for?
     
  19. kace

    kace
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you check hours for a PA20?
     
  20. manwithnoname

    manwithnoname
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DELUCAS

    I have a 434HDE. How do I check the hour count? :confused:
     
  21. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    1760 hours since Sept 03......................mounts up, doesn't it ;)
     
  22. alanlar

    alanlar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland - Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have tried the above with no luck. I assume all these steps carried out on the remote? Channel info is the 5th button down on the right? Kept pressed for 3 - 4 seconds followed by Left arrow, Up arrow , left arrow and right arrow then press the standby button.
    I keep on doing this but nothing happens. Have I got somthing wrong?
    Hope you can help just want to check hours used.
    The media box is dated November 2003.
    Alan
     
  23. deepblue2uk

    deepblue2uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a PA20 which is a damn fine plasma but i dont think there is a way on these sets to check your viewing time. I have tried various ways to get into the service menu but nothing has worked. Does anyone know a way that works?
     
  24. deepblue2uk

    deepblue2uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried this method however the plasma will no let you pick a channel over 99. Is this because its a UK spec machine and not a US machine?
     
  25. GarethH

    GarethH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    On my Panny PW6B (got it last week) the counter seems to be stuck on 2 hours! Do i have to use it more than an hour at a time for it to go up?
     
  26. Ancillotti

    Ancillotti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a complete newbie at this, but how do I check the 'hours left' on a Panny PE30?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  27. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    607
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +64
    Plasma Pioneer 504 and probably other models service menu entry:

    Make sure the plasma and the media box is in standby.
    Press DISPLAY on the remote (just press, do not hold)
    Wait 3 seconds
    Press LEFT, UP, LEFT, RIGHT and POWER (on the remote)
    If done correctly, the plasma turns on and the INFORMATION page is displayed.


    Press MUTE to move through the levels of menus (which are INFORMATION, FUNCTION CHECK, COMMON ADJ, OPTION, INITIALIZE).

    Press the DOWN key to move through individual menus.

    Hope this info helps tip for the states version: http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/brandspecific/pioneer/pioneer_5040.html
     
  28. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Hour Meter: 01065H 26M
    MR Hour Meter: 01034H 31M
    P On Counter: 558 Times (thought my thumb was a bit tender...:D )
     
  29. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine 23 months old

    hours on 2518
    times turned on 1236
     
  30. alanlar

    alanlar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland - Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +1
     

Share This Page

Loading...