How long can a phono cable be???

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Kryton790, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. Kryton790

    Kryton790
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried a quick search but couldnt find anything specific.

    Basically I am running a Yamaha AV amp through which I have sky and a multimedia centre which connects to my PC.

    I am looking to utilise the phono "Record out" from the AV amp to run an amp upstairs. The distance from amp to amp will be about 15m. Not intending on running anything too fancy upstairs, probably just some second hand speakers and amp.

    Firstly, is this the best way to do this or is this too far to run phonos?
    Secondly, will I be able to add to this set up with Y leads (ie for the kitchen) or will this affect the sound??
    Thirdly, will this all work using the record out from the AV amp as this appears to be the only output...

    Cheers

    Stuart
     
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    Hi

    The signal level and the fact that those connections are unbalanced means that you may well pick up a lot of mains hum / interference along the way.
    A tidy way to do it would be to use stereo audio baluns and Cat5 cable, that way the 15m run would be balanced.
    Quite expensive however. If you're handy with a soldering iron you could find some suitable transformers and make your own however.

    Rec out should be suitable for analogue sources.

    regards

    Brian
     
  3. jameslindsey

    jameslindsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    I soldered up a 10 m cable to send video and audio to a celing mounted projector without issue. But I think the phrase suck it and see needs to be used.

    In general the longer the cable the better quality conductor & screening required.
     
  4. Kryton790

    Kryton790
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply, I would say i was pretty handy with a soldering iron, have you any more info on this??

    I was big in to Car audio when I was younger so have a good idea about the basics.

    Cheers

    Stuart
     
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    If you're handy with a soldering iron then 15-20m shouldn't be a problem at all for the cable. Just make sure you do a half-decent job with some half decent components.

    The more likely cause of problems IMO is if the power sockets you're using are on different circuits which may introduce hum. More than likely you'll be fine and fixing an earth loop isn't too tricky. :)
     
  6. Kryton790

    Kryton790
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What components do i need to do this??
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  8. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,173
    If you're feeling lazy...
    http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/endecaSearch/partDetail.jsp?SKU=AV04350
    I use 2 of these to send RGBs from my SCART switcher to my Projector. I've seen the exact same lead advertised at over twice CPC's price online.
    Cable and connectors are very well made and I would expect a video signal to be more prone to interference than audio.
    The brand is Tech+link when you actually get them.
     
  9. Kryton790

    Kryton790
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info guys, now im on the hunt for some cheap hardware
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice