How is the xbox 360 with the TOSHIBA 37WLT66

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by toxic mango, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hello All

    I was considering a projector like optoma hd70 or even ax100. However I would rather wait perhaps another year until the likes of in78 are down to about £1000.

    In the meantime I have approx £600 worth of comet vouchers which was thinking of utilising. Am looking at the Toshiba 37wlt66. For those who have this how does the xbox 360 look on it.

    Thanks
     
  2. maverik1979

    maverik1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    i have the 32" version and it looks fantastic over component
     
  3. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    It looks fantastic! use VGA and set it to 1024x768 resolution.

    Mine does make a slight buzzing noise but it has never bothered me.

    I am on my 3rd one now though, the first two had unacceptable backlight leakage.

    Everyone who has seen the TV had said how good the picture is. But i always make sure i show them something HD ;)
     
  4. rrfierce

    rrfierce

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +43
    its fantastic. no complaints from me
     
  5. TomWilko

    TomWilko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1
    Same here, fantastic setup...golf never looked so good :smashin: (Tiger Woods 2007)
     
  6. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    thanks for your responses.

    Looks like might be onto a winner. I got £600 vouchers for £522. My mate gets 10% of comets. As tv is £795 means price i have to pay is £715 which means the actual cost to me would be £637
     
  7. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    dont forget that this thread is only likely to be read by happy 37wlt66 owners so it's always going to be biased.

    Have you thought about SD quality? or considered a Plasma?

    just make sure you dont rush into anything. £600 is still alot of money!
     
  8. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    i looked at some plasmas but they seem to be very pricey and most of them are not tru 720p panels ie 1280 x 780 and appear to be 1024 x 768. NOts uer whether this makes any difference

    However i will do a bit more scouring :thumbsup:
     
  9. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    anything over xxxx X 720 is HD.

    Like i said earlier I run my 37wlt66 at 1024X768 via VGA and it looks better than component 720p or 1080i

    Resolution is not the single most important thing.

    There are some cracking deals floating about on the Panasonic 42px60 plasma tv's. If I wanted to view 'normal' telly aswell as HD gaming then i would go Plasma.
     
  10. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
  11. gaz2785

    gaz2785
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    Bear in mind you can't (as far as I know) set the resolution of the WLT66 to 1360 x 768 with the Xbox or PC via vga. It will only go up to 1024 x 768 so it's not widescreen (or it's stretched). This was the situation a few months back at least.

    Not sure why Toshiba did this - I have the older WL56 and that allows 1360 x 768 fine.
     
  12. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    How about via component can it be set 1360 x 768

    Thanks
     
  13. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    The wl56's had a dual purpose VGA socket which you could use to get component signals into the tv.

    the Wl66 set at 1024X768 displays just fine. ie not streched or squashed.

    it will also display a picture at 1360x768 but it is off centre and just doesn't look as good. (also the 'PC settings' in the menu are unavalible set at 1366x768).
     
  14. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    component is either 640x480, 1280x720 or 1920x1080.
     
  15. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    Nick thanks for your comments it is very much appreciated.

    A few q's though. Can you set the wl66 to 1280 x 780 via compenent on the xbox and if so how does the picture appear

    The panasonic looks good but just a bit pricey for me, especially as the toshiba costing me approx £640. I am looking for a tv to play hd gaming for my 360 with an intention to pick up a projector in about two years time.

    I have a crt tv in the main room which will not change until I get sky hd and 1080p panels become cheaper. The lcd will be for my 'games room'.

    Thanks again
     
  16. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    glad to help mate.

    When the 360 is used with the component leads the only options you'll see on the 'system' menu (360 dashboard) are 480p, 720p, 1080i (&p)

    it looks great when set 720p or 1080i but all i'm saying is it looks *even better* with the xbox360 VGA lead. (and it's when you have this lead connected that you get to choose more resolution options)

    It's a great TV for the 360.

    dont worry too much about 'resolutions' just enjoy:smashin:
     
  17. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks will pick up the tv either today or tommorrow. Probably will use component tos tart of with as that is the lead I have and then try the vga.

    Regards

    SB
     
  18. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    be sure to post when you have it all set up to let us know how you get on.
     
  19. gaz2785

    gaz2785
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    How can it? The screen width is 1366 pixels. Therefore if the resolution of the Xbox is set to 1024 that's a difference of 342 pixels. I assume there must be a gap of 171 pixels either side of the screen, or the image is stretched to fill the screen?
     
  20. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    I'm not sure about the technicalities of it but it fills the screen with no distortion or bars.

    There is a 'widescreen' option where you select the resolution. (and you have to set the tv to 4.3 first then 'pop' it to 'wide' on the remote.)

    I will post up a photo if i get chance.
     
  21. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    so did you get it then? what do you think?
     
  22. thomo

    thomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi, I picked up a 37WLT66 about 3 weeks ago for my 'games room'. Have no intention of plugging an aerial in so i can't comment on SD picture quality.

    After quite a bit of tuning i am very happy with the picture, even the black levels. It's easily a match for my 2 year old Pioneer 434. I've tried both the official VGA and component and i prefer the component. VGA gave a slightly sharper image, but to me, the colours and blacks looked washed out and artificial.

    I also prefer the 1080i setting over the 720p option also. Don't know why, but i find the 1080i easier on the eyes.

    With VGA you can set the resolution to 1366 x 768. You will lose approx half an inch of picture on the left side of the screen. I was running this resolution and didn't notice this at all playing Gears of War, it was only noticable when i played a video of a game (Bioshock i think) with static images on the left. I was only then that i noticed it. This wasn't the reason why i resorted back to component mind.

    Just bear in mind that all the settings are on the highest out of the box. Get the back light turned right down (less than 20) if you want good black levels. I also found that the colour temp set to Cool gave better whites also. But everyones eyes are different and viewing environment/ambient light can make a big difference.

    Post up your settings when you get it set up.

    Enjoy
     
  23. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8

    pretty much identical to my settings m8 and im well pleased with mine running my 360 via component at 720p:smashin:
     
  24. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    It's interesting to note that when i check colours with colour filter glasses (included in the DVE disc) they are spot on with the VGA lead yet hdmi and component have to be tweaked, usually colour down to 44ish.

    Another tip, which i picked up off someone on the forums for great black levels are setting contrast to 100 and backlight 0. (may be to dark for day time viewing though)

    Also, another vote for 'cool' on the colour temp. Normal and Warm turns the greys brownish.
     
  25. thomo

    thomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    From memory and plenty of trial and error, i think i ended up with backlight on 15 ish, Contrast between 75 and 80, Brightness around 60. All noise reduction/black stretch rubbish to off. I also have my rooms light source from directly behind the screen also, this helps with any reflection problems.

    Your right about daytime though. Sometimes i need to turn the backlight up.

    I honestly can't fault the pic quality. My set does buzz when the backlight is set below 93. But over the fan noise of my 360 and sound system, it can't be heard, not that it would bother me anyway. My Pioneer plasma has buzzed since the day i switched it on. Quiet annoying when changing from a totally quiet CRT, but all flat panel screens tend to buzz at some level, some worse than others. You get used to it.
     
  26. mpn

    mpn
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton
    Ratings:
    +575
    I have the 32WLT66 and connected my 360 via vga lead at 1280 x 1024 and the picture is outstanding, as mentioned earlier 1366 x 768 made the image shift to the left....... at 1280 x 1024 text is nice and sharp and the image is exellent.
    My settings are ......
    Back Light ..... 30
    Contrast ....... 70
    Brightness ..... 20
    Colour temp ... Normal.

    I find this gives nice, crisp colour reproduction, good black levels and good white levels. Very happy with it. :thumbsup:
     
  27. luckyb**

    luckyb**
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +103
    My 37WLT66 comes monday...............i'll try and post some pic's as i should have it running by the afternoon!!!:blush:
     
  28. griff_dai

    griff_dai
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this set rocks with the 360!:clap:
     
  29. luckyb**

    luckyb**
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +103
    Just managed to set it up and test it this morning before coming into work......
    Delivered at 9.44.........playing GoW and CoD by 10.00....... Very easy install straight out of the box. I like the fact the stand is already connected!!

    Great picture, i've the sound coming through the pioneer xbox 360 surround kit and it sounds awsome as well!!!!

    May have to go sick for a few days...........:devil:
     
  30. toxic mango

    toxic mango
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    hello all

    My plans have been a bit scuppered for the time bieng due to having to go to a wedding in south america and funds having to be diverted there. Was very stuck between this tv and a projector (sanyo z5).

    Advantage of toshiba were placement/cheaper.

    advantages of a projector are that I could have got a huge 55 inch screen. Down side was the bulb life/placement and the intial cost would be approx £200 higher, However having said that the sanyo z5 comes with a 3 year warranty and a free bulb. Whilst the toshiba 3 yr warranty would have cost approx £150. So price wise evened out.

    For the time being am having to save up again :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...