how is the new "Photos" app in real world use?

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by instigator, Jun 24, 2015.

1. instigator

instigator

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +79
    currently using Aperture so a bit hesitant to dump that with the OS upgrade and Photos app.

argh.

2. aerodynamic18

aerodynamic18

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,397
    im in the same boat as you. Will be interested to see replys

3. instigator

instigator

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +79
    anyone?

I might (if time allows) backup my macbook and try the upgrade... it's still beta right?

4. Norman

Norman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +597
    I love it!

Im not a pro-photographer but this is the solution I've been waiting for and having tested it for a bit I've now commited myself to putting my entire photo library to digital.
    I'm currently in the process of scanning my old photographs, meta tagging them with correct date/time/GPS location (if possible) then add them to the Photos library.

I like that you can export the library either untouched or with changes and that the export option also allows you to rename the files and have them stored in folders relating to their date and location.
    This is great for me because I like to keep local copies for backup purposes and it means I'm not tied to Apple if I ever "jump ship" to another platform in the future.

The "icing on the cake" has to be multi device synchronisation - it's brilliant.
    I have four Apple devices, Mac Pro, MacBook Pro, iPad Air and iPhone 6.
    As I said, I'm in the process of converting 30 years of archive photos to digital and I do that on the Mac Pro, but I also use the other devices (mostly my iPad) to run through the growing photo library to thin it out (delete unwanted material) and fix minor anomalies (red eye, etc).