1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How important is a colour viewfinder?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Mikeyboy, Sep 16, 2004.

1. Mikeyboy

Mikeyboy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm a newbie about to purchase my 1st camcorder and after extensive research for what I want, I've kind of settled for the Sony DCR-HC18 but it has a b/w viewfinder. Other brands with similar spec have colour. How important is it?

Also one of the features I like about the Sony is an automatic lens cover, removing the need for a separate lens cap. Is there any other brand that has this feature?

I would be grateful if anyone can help.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    A b&w viewfinder is good enough most of the time. Depending on what camcorder features you have a colour viewfinder can be very handy. For example, when useing manual focus the colour vf does make getting a sharp focus that bit easier. Setting white balance is also much easier with colour, and the screen is no good if in bright sunlight etc.
    If however you only intend to use the camcorder with full automatic features then I see no reason to pay more money for a colour vf as all you are basically doing with it is framing the shot.

Mark.

3. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +146
    Mark

Have the colour viewfinders improved?

I ask because I borrowed a mate's DV camcorder recently (Old Pan model, about 3 years old) and found the colour viewfinder practically unusable.
    It was a kind of matrixed screen, like a cheap Casio LCD pocket TV.
    Focusing was practically impossible with it. The screen size was very small too.

This concerns me as i've always preferred manual focus and had no problems with the old B&W ones from years ago.