1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How good is XBMC!!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by zAndy1, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,759
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,923
    Blimey, how impressive is this software! Seriously, just played the madagascar 720p hidef divx clip streamed from my PC upstairs (this one) and it played flawlessly! It has no right to do that it's a 733Mhz CPU! I was amazed and it looked incredible! Sorted out a problem I had with the video tearing which turned out to be a setting in XBMC to do with high quality per pixel processing or something like that lol. Anyway it's fine now.
    Only problem I have is music streamed from my PC is very very quiet! I have to have my amp turned up to almost 0db for it to be at a reasonable level which can't be good for the amp and can't be right! Any ideas on that one anyone?
    Apart from that bloody hell it's impressive, looking forward to the next episode of lost in 960x520 DD5.1 goodness now!

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  2. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Totally agree. It's absolutely superb. I've watched some of those Lost episodes you refer to and if it weren't for the breaks where the adverts were cut out and the broadcaster's logo on screen you'd almost think it was DVD quality...and the Xbox plays them all flawlessley :).
     
  3. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +84
    I Have it streaming Itunes and the sound is superb.
    Have pushed the volume up on your joy pad ( Right joystick ) :smashin:
     
  4. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    You can check out mine here I love it - defo one of the best devices I have at the moment ..
     
  5. LEEMJONES

    LEEMJONES
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    where can you get it from sound interesting
     
  6. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,759
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,923
    Yeah I figured out the volume lol... One problem I've got is shoutcast doesn't seem to work, just says failed to download streams or something like that. Not sure why cos it has an internet connection ok as the weather works fine. Apart from that I just need to start tweaking it really and work out how to FTP stuff to/from it.
    LEEMJONES... if you buy a modded xbox from some places it will have XBMC installed e.g. from advancedxbox.com , failing that you can get it the software from various places (not sure which yet as I haven't looked to be honest).
     
  7. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,759
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,923
    monkeyleader, you should download the 700MB DD5.1 versions, so much better than those 350MB ones.
     
  8. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +84
    I told you what you need on your other thread.

    Here's a reminder.

     
  9. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,759
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,923
    Cheers... getting there, sorted out the shoutcast problem (didn't have a DNS specified in the network settings). Sorted out SMB Shares and got XBMC on the main menu of evox, might make XBMC my default dash not sure. Still impresses me each time I use it. Streamed Invasion from my PC last night, was ok but there was some stuttering, didn't seem to be caused by the fact it was being streamed as the audio was fine at the time it stuttered, will need to do some investigation into that but it wasn't too distracting.
     
  10. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    I go home and hug mine each night before the girlfriend :rotfl:

    Joke!

    XBMC works fine as a Dash as well, I use it like this. You might want to look at the extra features in the XBMC that you probably haven't noticed like....

    RSS feeds and Python Scripts to name two. :thumbsup:


    There is also a web browser which is in Alpha (i think). You can get builds with this already incorparated or you can download it from the site. Can't remember its name off the top of my head.

    Enjoy XBMC! I do :)
     
  11. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +98

    Have you got a link to this? I've just got a HD sammy and, having an iMac have no PC capable of running the HD MS vids, so the only way I can get any HD sources is from XBMC. Tried the MS Shuttle one and it wouldnt run smooth (as to be expected really). I'm surprised you got the madagascar one to work....
     
  12. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +84
    I Use This One :hiya:
     
  13. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,759
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,923
    Yeah that's where I got mine from, it's only a clip not the full film. I was amazed it played it I really was, looked superb.
     
  14. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    That xbmc looks great. Am i right in thinking that the 360 will do a similar/same sort of thing(if you have XP:Media Edition)?
     
  15. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +365
    No, not really - my understanding is that it will work as an extender for MCE but will only play MCE supported files, so basically not divx/xvid or vobs.

    lisa
     
  16. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +84
  17. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +98
    Dunno if I'm maybe using an old XBMC, but the x360 WMVs won't run.

    :(

    EDIT

    For some reasn it's now not playing files that it would before !

    Only thing I've done is change cables and use Enigmah to turn on all the HD options.....
     
  18. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +98
    Hmm, sorted the files not playing that would before. I'd got XBMC dash set to 1080i. Dropped it a notch and now they all play. Still can't get the x360 ones to work though.
     
  19. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Where's everyone finding the 700MB versions, I can only find the 350MB ones!? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...