1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How good is the FMJ27?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Dellboy, Apr 25, 2002.

  1. Dellboy

    Dellboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +93
    I am considering the Arcam FMJ27 to output to my new Pannyplas. Is this a good choice? Should I consider the Denon DVD A1?
    Are there any problems with the Pal progscan on the Arcam?

    Many thanks for any help.
     
  2. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
  3. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    I got mine 3 days ago having upgraded from a very old panasonic A310 - It was frankly a revelation, both for DVD and CD playback. I have spent the last 3 days reaquainting myself with my collection. I am hearing and seeing things that just were not there on my old player. Take the plunge you will not regret it.
    AndyS:)
     
  4. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I upgraded from the Arcam DV88, the FMJ does everything better ...
     
  5. Dellboy

    Dellboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +93
    Well it looks as though I'll be placing my order tomorrow.

    Many thanks for the advice.
     
  6. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    It is an awesome player ... check that it has the latest software and drive firmware or you might have problems with some copy protected cd's ... from memory its s'ware 1.76 and f'ware LT20 ...

    If you are after ntsc progressive output it's in the manual, if you want pal progressive pm me ...

    oh the 'black' version (mine :) looks very cool ... but is only available to order as an 'export' model ...
     
  7. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Jont,
    I agree totally, the black version is the one to go for. Beautiful and strangely tactile. How do you find Arcams amps. I have had my interest pricked by the anouncement of their pre/power combo due out in June. :)
     
  8. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    I like my fmj 22/35/dave combo ... I had the alpha version for a while before having to sell it due to a relationship breakup;-(

    It's very powerful and I'm happy with dd 5.1 and dts ... not too bothered about moving to 6.1 or thx, etc

    The new pre/power looks stunning and probably weighs as much as it costs ... £6000 I think ??

    Yes the black is cool ... I'd kind of resigned to liking silver and had ordered a silver MD player but when my fmj dealer said "would sir like it in black ??" I just had to change ... the silver buttons look so nice and the headphone socket doesn't stick out like a sore thumb ...

    Mind you it took a lot of aggro to get three components in black that matched ... but thats another story ..

    J
     
  9. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Think I need to order a black one today so I will hopefully have it for the following weekend. All my other components are black so silver would really stick out.

    Do you find that the mechanism is a bit noisy on the FMJ? I borrowed one to try but it might just have been a one off.
     
  10. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    The mechanism is noisier than you maybe would expect from a piece of kit of this quality, but only on first inserting a disc - i have read John on this forum saying this is just while the TOC is read, and certainly after a few seconds its whisper quiet. Also its hardly NOISY - just not totally silent. If you push your dealer (as I did) you can get Arcam to send them one by overnight delivery and be playing with your new toy the next day - trying to explain to people why you have a big soft grin on your face:D
     
  11. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    You're right. It was noisy when inserting the disk but then much quieter. It will be 12 feet away so I doubt it will be a problem.

    Right... I'm off to Billy Vee's now!
     
  12. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just got back from Billy Vee's with a DV27! Seems that black players are special order and take 6-8 weeks! Arcam are discouraging dealers to place orders for black models since they are destined primarily for the US market.
     
  13. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Nigel - Where theres a will theres a way - or more correctly where theres 1600 quid theres a way. I went to seven oaks sound and vision in Liverpool and told them I required it the next day - Ordered Tuesday at 11am and was plugging it in on wednesday at 4pm. 1600 is a lot of motivation
     
  14. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    We have black in stock if you are interested.
     
  15. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I suppose I could have pushed them but I had no reason to doubt what they said. It's only a small shop so they would have to order specially direct from Arcam. Sevenoaks are a bigger organisation with lots of stores and stock.

    But I've got it now and I'm very happy - Picture and sound is fantastic.
     
  16. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    has it got the latest s'ware updates, etc ... IME some dealers are a bit hit & miss when it comes to checking/upgrading machines before sale ?
     
  17. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's 1.74 at the moment, not sure if there any more updates.

    Next upgrade will be the decoder, I'm using a Sony DB930 for the centre and rears at the moment.
     
  18. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The latest software for the Arcam fMj DV27 and DiVA DV88 is 1.76.
     
  19. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    Nigel

    Your dealer *should* have the software upgrade cd's and carry this out for you ... depending on your music tastes the dv27 under 1.74 may not play copy protected cd's ...
     
  20. mark rosser

    mark rosser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    solihull, west midlands
    Ratings:
    +65
    I have an FMJ27 playing through an Pioneer 502MXE, and the quality is fantastic.

    The only comment to make is that my plasma does not accept a PS PAL input (produces picture, but the colour is not stable, unless anyone out there knows of a fix for this?), so i am still watching my limited R2 dvd's via RGB scart. You may want to check to see if your plasma will accept PS PAL .

    R1 NTSC PS pictures are fine.
     
  21. Dellboy

    Dellboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +93
    The Pannyplas will accept an incredible range of signals. Both NTSC and Pal progscan are available. I think it will also accept some HDTV signals that are being used in Japan and USA.
     
  22. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    Strange, the 503MXE handles PAL progressive from the FMJ27 very well, and if I recall correctly, the 502MXE uses the same PDA-5002 interface card as the 503MXE but perhaps I'm wrong on that point ?

    Mark
     
  23. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    am I reading these posts correctly a black FMJ DV27 with SILVER buttons? I ordered the black model when it first came out and am very happy with it, but mine doesn't have silver buttons it has very dark grey almost black buttons. I must admit I was very disappointed when I realised it didn't have silver buttons like my AVR100, I was hoping it would match.

    I'm also very annoyed about this CD copy protection, I didn't pay £1700 for a DVD player that won't play CD's :(
     
  24. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark,

    Have you tried sync on G...
     
  25. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    Sorry Tracey - didn't mean to get you flustered ;-)

    Yes the buttons are more grey than silver ... but still a very nice contrast to the black finish ...
     
  26. Dellboy

    Dellboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +93
    I collect my new black FMJ27 tomorrow. So what component video cables are people using to get the best perfomance?
     
  27. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm using VanDamme 10m component cables available for about £42 from Joe Fernand, The Media Factory.

    Picture is superb from the Sony VW11.
     
  28. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Phew I thought Arcam had updated it with shiny silver buttons, that's a relief. I still think the silver model is nicer though, but as I already had all black components I went for the black so it would match.
     

Share This Page

Loading...