How good are the in car sat navs at redirecting a route?

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by drunkenmaster, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. drunkenmaster

    drunkenmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Shaolin Temple
    Ratings:
    +43
    After having many a discussion with the chaps in the weekend, there seems to be confusion at which in car sat nav is best for redirecting a route:

    1) Just before a traffic alert

    2) When you miss the turn the system recommends

    Consensus was that the tom toms just tell you to turn around, and others will redirect u via the shortest route if possible in both cirecunstances.

    Can anybody help?? thanks
     
  2. temsy

    temsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +66
    I have a Tom Tom 500 (without live traffic updates) and set up to prefer the shortest route.
    If you miss a turn it does advise to turn around but only because it is the shortest route available.
    Sometimes it redirects almost immediatly or as soon as continuing in the present direction the shortest route.
     
  3. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    i can confirm tomtom will recalculate the route to ur rules ie shortest/fastest

    so often its quicker/shorter to turn around.
    but it does recalculate depending on where u are and if u ignore its drections etc
     
  4. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,277
    My tomtom one is excellent at redirecting if you miss a turn. It calculates a new route almost immediately after you have driven past the turning.
     
  5. Mr Cheese

    Mr Cheese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +19
    1)My Garmin C510D with TMC traffic offers you an alternative route well in advance of problems. A red warning triangle appears which if you press, it tells you the problem and offers to take you on a better route which you can either accept or deny.

    2) It seems to take you on the shortest route from the point where you miss the turning. This generally is an alternative route. If it wants you to do a 'U' turn it will direct you to the nearest roundabout or seek out a turning that can lead to the desired road. It hasn't (yet) just told me to 'turn back or around!
     
  6. drunkenmaster

    drunkenmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Shaolin Temple
    Ratings:
    +43
    :thumbsup: Thanks for all your help.:thumbsup:

    Does this mean that the Tom Tom models do not have active traffic alerts?
     
  7. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,277
    It does, it's just an extra you have to pay for. As long as you have a bluetooth capable phone it will work fine.
     
  8. Mr Cheese

    Mr Cheese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +19
    ...or a lifetime sub included in the price with the Garmin unit!
     
  9. partyweb

    partyweb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    It's Peanut Butter Jelly Time!!!
    Ratings:
    +529
    :smashin: The New Navmans also have the add-on T1 traffic pack for about £60-70 (lifetime subscription). This uses the RDS radio signal so there's no need for a bluetooth phone (and huge mobile data costs).
     
  10. stephenashforth

    stephenashforth
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    The problem with the Navman T1 traffic module is that it needs its own aerial to get the RDS signal so you have a lot of wires around the place. In my limited experience, I am not convinced that the alerts are terribly up to date, which limits its usefulness quite a bit.
     
  11. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    they are 2 differents info provider, itis and trafficmaster.

    Trafficmaster is used by garmin and it is an automatic system on major road. So it is pretty acurate by do not cover smaller road.

    Itis is used by Navman, it is a system link with Rac car for example... ie not automated, so it covers more road (if not all) but the info are not as up to date.

    So depending if you are a motorway or countryside man you know which one to get :)

    All rds as far as I know needs antena, and it is a pain to set up :( I had a navman 550 and now a garmin 510 and the main problem that I had with both is a "bad" reception with the rds.
     
  12. stephenashforth

    stephenashforth
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think I read somewhere that the Sony RDS aerial is built in which, if true, would provide a much tidier solution
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice