How exactly does 'Recording' work on Sky HD?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Mike710_0, Jun 10, 2009.

1. Mike710_0

Mike710_0
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im pretty new to having Sky HD installed and still cant figure out how recording works, plus it doesnt seem to mention all about it in the manual.

Say I see something I like I press 'record' and yes it does start but after i finish and go to my planner it never starts from the moment i press 'R'. Also I recorded a few music videos the other night and it broke the 1 recording into 2?!?! No idea why it'd do that!

Ive googled this but still not 100% sure how it all works or whats the best settings to have!

2. andy1249

andy1249
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,648
    Sky records the encrypted transport stream directly to the boxes hard drive.
    You need an active subscription to unencrypt recordings and watch them.

Now for the interesting parts , if you are watching a program and decide say , to record the rest of it and watch it later , then the recording starts from that point plus the rewind/pause TV time that you have set in the box settings.

This could be anything up to an hour earlier I think , it depends how long youve been watching the program for and what time you have this set to on the box. It cant go any earlier than a program start flag though. So if youve been watching a film say , for half an hour and your rewind time is 1 hour , when you press record you get from the start of the film or program if you know what I mean.